Black Rain Ordnance AR-15 - Should I Pull the Trigger? ~ #tobuyornottobuy

I don't currently own a rifle and after seeing my brother get his AR-15 last month, and hearing about how one of my co-workers has a few and loves them, I got the itch to research and see what would be best for me.

image.png

My thoughts behind it are mainly 2 fold---

  1. Home defense/zombie apocalypse.
  2. Fun.

That's about it.

I don't intend to enter into any competitions, nor am I hoping to become the worlds next greatest sniper.

After all my research, I have concluded that the Black Rain AR-15 Spec 15 Fusion Bronze Battleworn 5.56 30rd Mag 10.5in as seen above would fit all of my needs quite nicely.

Through my research I've found that lower priced guns will have polymer (plastic, instead of metal) lowers and maybe even the uppers, on the really low end. That's not good for the longevity of the gun itself, nor the guns reliability.

In a home defense situation, reliability is everything.

I mean, think about it...you're walking around your house because you hear an intruder, you go to pull the trigger and.....nothing happens! That would be an extremely scary situation for anyone to be in, let alone against an armed intruder whose gun probably will fire.

So I said absolutely no to the entry level Ar's.

Rifles above this BRO model, you'll find competition rifles and ones that can shoot a mile down range. Neither of those are my goal, nor was shelling out over 2k or more for one that had capabilities I didn't need or want.

This BRO model comes in at a hefty $1299.99 sticker price, along with tax and shipping. I'd probably guess around 15-1600 hundred all said and done, and that's before stacking up on ammo and eventually getting some sort of optics system which can run anywhere from around 100-600.

For me, not an easy decision to drop that kind of $$$ on something that more than likely will not get a ton of use, but could end up being the difference between life and death.

Here are the full specs of this specific rifle:

Brand : Black Rain Ordnance
Model : Black Rain AR AR-15 Spec 15 Fusion Bronze Battleworn 5.56 30rd Mag 10.5in
Model # : BRO-FUSION-P-BB-BLADE
UPC : 680490949036
Caliber : 5.56MM NATO
Barrel : 10.5
Stock Material : Polymer
Stock Finish : Black
Receiver Material : Alloy
Receiver Finish : Bronze Battleworn
Capacity : 1-30 Round
Front Sight : None
Rear Sight : None

If you know anything about guns and/or AR's specifically, please lend me your input, I would greatly appreciate it.

Is there anything else I should be considering before pulling the trigger on purchasing this AR?

Thanks for reading.
sources

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency