This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

#Grovid20: "Transplanting my Succulent 'Echeveria Violet Queen'"

04292020-04.jpg

Today, I was expecting some rain since this morning since there was a forecast that there was going to be rain showers and thunderstorms in our town. So I did not water my plants in the hope that it would rain. I placed a big square bucket where I knew would effectively collect rainwater from the pergola gutter, which I will use to water my plants in the shaded area.

However, the rain did not come. I noticed that the ground was still wet from the rain we had the other day. So I decided I would just water the papaya tree, wulfenii plants and the corn plant tomorrow morning, but still, I am praying for rain. I pray it will come tonight.

I checked all my plants in my mini-greenhouse and under the pergola and I don't think they needed water as well because their soil was still moist. Feeling enthused in gardening though even though there wasn't much I could do, I dug some dirt around the papaya tree instead to bury our food scraps which I collected since yesterday.

As I was digging the dirt, I noticed there were lots of worms where I buried the compost from few days ago. Those worms were big!!! I am enjoying gardening now but still, I can't stand to look at the worms, how much more touch it! I was not grossed out though. I was actually happy to find them there because I know they're going to help break down the compost rapidly and the compost does add good nutrients to the soil which is beneficial to the plants.

After composting, I entertained the idea of replanting my succulent into a slightly bigger and wider pot instead. I've been meaning to do that since December when I got it as a gift, but I never got around to doing it. I'm always procrastinating, a bad habit I need to break!!!

Anyway, so this photo below was what it looked like before replanting the succulent.

04202020-09.jpg
(Can you see succulent in a white pot? It was a Christmas gift to me by my student last year.
There's a message that says, "Thanks for helping me to grow, Mrs. V.")

I've had this rectangular pot (see the photo below) for months ever since I planned to transplant the succulent. Finally, I made it happen today. First, I put some potting mix into this pot and I placed it in a tray.

04292020-01.jpg

Next, I carefully removed the succulent out of its original pot and transplanted it into the new soil. I made sure it's level so I added more potting mix to secure the plant. Then, I placed tiny pebbles on the surface of the soil just to add character to the plant. I think it looks cute. After that, I stuck the name of the plant as well as the message of my student from Early Learning Centre on the side of the pot.

And lastly, I watered it so that the soil is thoroughly soaked, and then I'm not going to water it until the soil has completely dried out. It's what they call a "soak and dry" method. I'm glad to find out that it's low maintenance. There's a higher chance for it to survive even if I fail to water it because I don't need to do it regularly anyway. It's my kinda plant, yay!!!

By the way, this succulent is called Echeveria Violet Queen. I've read that this may grow and spread out in groups of up to 20 rosettes (Source: Succulents and Sunshine). I'm not sure if this one is going to have lots of rosettes though since it's replanted in a very small pot. But we'll see.

Anyway, now, it's sitting next to the mini-greenhouse, where I placed my seed pots I planted about nine or ten days ago.

04292020-02.jpg

Speaking of the seed pots, I'm happy to see that the bok choi and the spinach are starting to sprout. I don't know what's happening to the parsley and thyme, though. Whether they're still going to grow or not. I don't know how long I'll have to wait until I see any growth, but I'll be patient and I hope to see their progress in the next few days.

04292020-03.jpg

Thank you for reading. If you have any suggestion, comment or feedback, please leave a reply below. Thank you! Cheers for now!

rsz_transparent.png

In case, you're wondering what #grovid20 is, well, it is a concept or movement initiated by Tiger Lily "which focuses on connecting with all the positive things, such as nature, garden, sustainability and all the greens around us, instead of dwelling on the negative things caused by #covid19 among many others."

My Previous #grovid20 posts:

evlachsblogshootingstar1.png

grovid20-jpg.jpg

Shooting Star Badge by @qurator
#grovid20 banner by TigerLily
All photos are my own unless otherwise stated.

team-australia-hive-badge-slim-beach-hive.blog-evlachsblog.png