This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Daily Reads: March 13th, 2018

Hello! In the first edition of my daily articles, I've decided to write about a hot-button topic as of late: the major shortage of graphics cards. So, as many of you know, high-end graphics cards at their MSRP have been incredibly difficult (if not impossible) to come by. This has created a massive conflict between miners and gamers. Now, I won't try to take high ground here. I will openly admit that I take part in both activities. I built my first computer when I was 11 years old. I love games of all varieties; MMORPGs, FPS, simulators, casual games, you name it. But I also enjoy making money through mining when I'm not gaming. I recently finished setting up a mining rig for a friend, with 6(!) RX Vega 64s(can you say "power draw"?). 

I understand the frustration of gamers. I've been looking to build a new gaming PC, but it just doesn't seem feasible right now. There's no way I'm paying $1500 USD for an $800 graphics card. But that doesn't solve the issue of games still becoming more demanding, and my current PC growing older. Some gamers might argue that they're the target consumers, not miners. On the other hand, some miners might argue that as long as the companies are making money, they're happy. Nvidia has tried to combat this argument, by capping mining performance with driver updates, and marketing more heavily to gamers. Some mining-specific cards have been released, but haven't really helped with these problems.

So, what's your take on this? Are miners being greedy? Are gamers being too needy? Share your opinions in the comments below. 


Note to readers: Thanks for reading my first installment of Daily Reads! If you enjoyed this article, please upvote it! Also, I'd love to hear from you guys about what else you'd like me to write about. See you tomorrow :)

Connor