Prison Break Season 5: First impressions

Back in the day when Prison Break season 1 was released, I was a huge fan and actually couldn't wait until the following week - and this isn't at all true because I didn't watch it until it had been out for several years and I already had all of them. Therefore, this means i stayed up entirely too late binge watching and made my work life a bit of a nightmare as a consequence.

51L7cfeD33L._SY445_.jpg

Season 1 was epic in my mind and if you haven't seen it I would imagine it is available on Netflix - and i am convinced I am the only person left in the world that doesn't have Netflix.

However, this isn't about Season 1 - 4, it is about Season 5. So far my impressions are like this: I guess it is ok.

One problem i have with reunion shows are the fact that all the characters that we have grown to love from previous seasons come back together, sometimes in absurd ways. This is most notable in "Sucre" who just kind of pops up at Lincoln's hotel room at the 11th hour right before he is about to fly to Yemen, where Michael has been incarcerated for some reason.

landscape-1494944641-pb-r-01-amaury-white-0136-hires1.jpg
I was Michael's cellmate, so I psychically able to know when he needs help

So far I guess the action is pretty good, and of course some mysterious deep-state-type-operatives are doing their best to prevent them from finding / rescuing Michael for reasons yet unexplained.

My favorite character of the franchise, who also happens to have his own soundtrack and sound bytes, is T-bag. Despite being one of the smallest characters in any of the series, he is terrifying.

qocmwmuo65tlftkno0xq.jpg

The only thing I can tell so far about him (because it doesn't focus very heavily on him, yet,) is that he is getting a bionic arm - which is ridiculous but whatever - the notion of the same 7 people being connected in multiple prison escape situations all around the world is pretty absurd too.

Prison-Break-cast-874130.jpg
making movies, singing songs, and breaking out around the world

Episode 1 gets the green light from me so far. I have not seen any additional episodes yet so the jury is still out. I actually gave up on season 3 and never finished it and the producers gave up on season 4 or so it appears because it was quite a few episodes shorter than the others. It remains to be seen if this one will be worth the time but so far. I dig it.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now