RIP George Michael - Another Musical Legend lost to 2016 and I'm devastated

RIP George Michael 1963-2016

I am devastated by the news of George Michael's passing on Christmas day, as a young child with serious hearing issues I rarely chose music to listen to myself.

Instead most of the music I heard was stuff my mother enjoyed listening to, Whitney, Queen, Kiss, Prince and one of her favourites George Michael.

These artists music especially George Michael, helped me gain confidence with my voice inspite of a serious hearing impairment - I heard them so often I knew where the song was going and could follow easily.

As time went on I listened to them all and grew to love them, this is the music I grew up on and the music I learned to sing to - his music was just a massive part of my childhood.

Especially during the holidays when we went on long road trips, we would always have a CD or way back in the day tape (yes that is how long I've been listening to him since cassette tapes).

I woke early this morning and as usual checked my phone it was then I saw the news update announcing his passing, I immediately was shocked wide awake - how could this be? this has to be fake...

But much to my despair the news article was quoting his family stating that he passed away peacefully in his sleep on Christmas day, and I burst into tears and have been on and off all morning.

I am not one who usually cries over a celebrity death but I was just so devastated by this major loss to music, we have already lost so many gifted artists this year - now we have truly suffered another tragic loss.

May he be remembered for his amazing voice, the messages in his music, the charity work he did and the epic impact his music had on the world - first with wham and then as a solo artist.

Freedom - George Michael


or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now