Genealogy: Robert Thornton (1395-1460)

I'm experimenting with posting some random bits of my genealogy research here.

I don't necessarily trust information that goes this far back, especially when it is not accompanied by reasonable sources. However, I record what I find, replacing it with more reliable info or more details as I find them. With more than 90,000 individuals in my family tree at this point, I generally pick one literally at random from time to time and go see what info I can find.

This Robert Thornton dates back to 1395. According to Gramps, he is my 18th Great Gradfather whom I am descended from via my Grandmother on my Mother's side.

I've been playing around with some other genealogy reporting software, namely Gedsite a program that takes a gedcom file and converts it into html and The Next Generation of Genealogy Sitebuilding which is web based and requires a setup with apache (or other webserver), php and mysql. Both cost money and both do an excellent job. The jury is still out on how easy it will be to post readable snippets here using either of them. The screenshot and link at the top come from TNG while the rest comes from Gramps.

The Skaggs-Files

Thornton, Robert

Birth Name Thornton, Robert
Gender male
Age at Death 65 years

Events

Event Date Place Description Sources
Birth 1395     1
Death 1460     1

Age: 65y

Parents

Relation to main person Name Birth date Death date Relation within this family (if not by birth)
Father Thornton, William13621418
Mother
         Thornton, Robert 1395 1460

Families

Family of Thornton, Robert and Grey, Isabel

Married Wife Grey, Isabel ( * 1400 + ... )
   
Event Date Place Description Sources
Marriage 1415     1
  Children
Name Birth Date Death Date
Thornton, William1420

Generated by Gramps AIO64-5.1.5-1
Last change was the 2022-05-06 17:53:52

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency