3rd Commision Portrait Drawing (3 months without practice, can I do it?)

IMG_20211126_094727.jpg

It's been awhile since the last time that I do some art/drawing. Whenever I don't the eagerness to draw or my mood didn't like to draw, I won't do it because it will not create a better result in return.

IMG_20211123_210238.jpg

Last October I did this drawing for my aunt who lives in Cagayan De Oro. I haven't met her in person but we do communicate thru social media, in that way she saw some of my drawing and wanted to have a drawing of herself. Just this November, when my mama came back to Cagayan De Oro, she bring my drawing with her. She posted it immediately on her social media, put it on a frame along with my little note with it.

For her it serves as a early Christmas present. She thank me and many of her friend saw that. They were interested with my work and that's my 3rd commision came from.

Drawing Time:

IMG_20211123_210328.jpg

I prepare my art materials with my scratch paper, pencils 8b, 6B, 2B, 2H, mechanical pencil, kneaded and ordinary eraser, ruler and vellum board.

IMG_20211123_210256.jpg

  • I used grid method so it can help me to have an accurate drawing from my reference. Using this ordinary pencil to sketch the whole drawing.
  • Doing this after 3 months makes my hand to draw slower than before. My hands needs to be familiar again on facial angles and features. I have to draw very lightly so I can prevent frequent erasure.

IMG_20211123_210502.jpg

IMG_20211123_210448.jpg

  • As usual I did the left eye follow by eyebrow and do shading. I used small make up brushes for this which is very ideal for small detailing. As you may see I put clean scratch paper at the back of my hand to prevent future dirt because of a dirty hands.
  • I can clearly see if I did something wrong upon seeing it from afar. I finished the first part of it for about 5 hours. I don't want to force myself this time. It is important for me that taking time was good rather than forcing myself to finish it fast.

IMG_20211123_210419.jpg

Rest.... Then back and get ready. I do an early selfie with my Papa (drawing) and Shadow (my fatbike) at the back. Excuse my bare face 😅

IMG_20211123_204200.jpg

  • I almost finished the entire face and proceed to the hair. I used 6B pencil for this, put charcoal powder and brush as well. I did it multiple times and using charcoal powder was messy to work on. It is natural to have this dirt like this.

IMG_20211123_210154.jpg

IMG_20211123_210130.jpg

  • Applying a very light pressure if the charcoal powder was too heavy but most of the time I clean brush or tapping the paper works too. I cover the face with sheet of paper to prevent the charcoal powder from coming in.

IMG_20211126_085116.jpg

  • I tried to do a gradient background effect but seems I have to work on it more often. I also add more details, do some retouch to make the dark area to look more intense. So this is the final look...

IMG_20211126_094302.jpg

This drawing will be shipped via airplane. I needed to secure and pack it so it can arrive in my costumer safely. I have another one to draw and it will be ship in the same location. I do hope it will just the start of my drawing career. Thank you for allowing me to share my life with you. Keep safe and see you in my next blog! :)
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency