The Okras Are Showing Tiny Pods After A Month Or So

image.png
After a month or so these okras had grown 3 to 4 inches above the soil. This started as an experiment on the self watering pots. I did not expect the okras to survive and grow.
image.png
I did not post on a regular basis about their progress because I did not see anything different or significant. Now that they are showing some signs of hope that I started to post again. On this photo you can see that they are rather thin and the leaves are yellowish. Maybe the container had restricted them from growing taller and bigger.
image.png
The roots had grown longer to the point of reaching the bottom most part of the pot making it difficult for me to lift and replenish the water below. Some moss had collected at the bottom. I will wait and see what will happen as the okras are growing some fruits already. Kind of small fruits only and I am afraid that they might wilt.
image.png
This is how they look from the start I feel happy to see that they had grown from a small seed to what they are now. I can say that the self watering pots made from PET bottles are a success on their own. Maybe not for fruiting plants but for herbs or green leafy vegetables. I think the fruiting plants need more space to bear fruits base on this observation that I mentioned above.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency