So we did a thing!

My fiance loves to cook, I would say it is one of her most favorite thing to do no matter the day and/or the time. I work the second shift at my job which puts me at home about 11:30pm. After a long exhausting day my favorite part of coming home, is the uncontrollable excitement of knowing my fiance cooked dinner. I love the way she cooks, she wings it in such a way that everything just explodes with flavor upon touching your mouth, it's amazing.

A few weeks back she stated that she wanted to get some spices to grow out back on the patio, but then suddenly she says "but I kill all plants!", with a soured look on her face. I died laughing! After a few seconds of feeling my chest vibrate with laughter I turned to her and said "babe I have one of the greenest thumbs you'll ever find in this world, lets pick out some plants!"

Time worp, we're at the store, and I'm think "ok, she'll pick probably 2 or 3 plants tops," nah, that isnt what happened. I ended up with six different spice plants in the basket before I realised I am the one who has to pot all of these.. Taking a deep breath we now moved forward to today.

With me working crazy hours and her working crazy hours, I told her we needed to have a lunch date. Go out have lunch some where and come home a relax a little before she had to work. Well, I bet you can guess that's not how it happened. So we decided on this cute Mexican restaurant that I have never been to before and because it was so close to the house and such a beautiful day out we decided to walk.

Fast foward through lunch, I am paying for our meal and she turns to me and says, "babe we should walk over to sutherlands!" (Missours version of home depot). I replied with "now why would you wanna do something like that?" Need I remind you sutherlands is literally across the street, so yall know there was no way I was getting out of it. Her reply "I want more spices!" "For cooking!"

So here we are, at sutherlands! We walk in one green house and she just lights up and starts going to town, looking at every plant they had laied out on the tables. 30seconds in, I have 2 plants and she has one, so I start looking, I mean we're already here if I can smuggle some hot peppers or some jalapeños I'm so gold. 60seconds in and we have a plant tray that has 12 spots holders and I shit you not its full all but 2 spots.

Fast forward to checkout, at this point I have a tray of plants and six blue and yellow pots, 3yellow, 3blue and she has a hanging plant for her heart shape hanger for the front yards. No too bad, then it hits me, we walked! Boom like a brick smacking you dead in the face without warning! So I look over at her and ask if she would like me to go get the car, wait let me back up a bit, she did ask about getting the car when headed to checkout and I told her, "nah, it'll be fine, we'll be fine. Note this was prior to adding in the pots, so it still hit me like a brick when the light bulb decided to come on!

Fast forward one more time. Here we are walking home, plants in one hand, pots in another. Just enjoying the small moment of half crazy, half blessed moment. We get to the house and as I am walking inside, it hits me again. You have to pot all of these plants, again for a second time except this time you have twice as much. I looked at my fiance as she is getting ready for work and said "you gotta go out there and put those plants in the pots you want them in. I'll do everything else but thats all you!"

Up to me knees in dirt, babe sitting there enjoying watching do my thing while handing me new plants everytime I finished one, the suns shinning and then the wind. Oh the dreadful wind, blowing my fresh dirt around like a rag doll. At this point im starting to get frustrated, like I dont want dirt everywhere and I only have one bag to feel too many pots. (It didnt last, I eventually had to go back to sutherlands.)

Finally every plant has been potted and her nor I can wait to see just how beautiful they turn out. However, I feel she is more excited about being able to use fresh spices when cooking than she is about seeing how beautifully big they get.

Here are some pictures I took of all the plants we have accumulated! I am betting by next weekend, there will be more!

20210403_173153.jpg

20210403_173215.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency