Progating aloe and saving cacti aka KC has no idea what she's doing but watch her try!


rdnuaj.jpg
So, I have been neglecting an aloe plant for the past few years, but she's pretty forgiving. She produced a lot of pups and it seemed to be crowding her pot, so I went and bought some new pots. Then I pulled the pups and went and bought some more because she produced a lot of pups. I will still probably be repotting some of these aloe again in the future. I still dont know for sure if this is true aloe vera or the aloe vera chinensis type, both look similar and have medicinal properties. Chinensis is edible, by the way. I believe what I have is Chinensis, but if anyone can tell please let me know.

umi8v2.jpg
So I let the pups sit out for 24 hours before replanting them, they were green and perky, then a few days later this happens...

wosd76.jpg

I know browning is going to happen when they get progated, but these are too dark, what is going on? I consulted the internet and came to two conclusions. Too much water or too much sun. So, the photo up there was taken directly after I decided to move them into the shade. Withheld water. Five days later, these are the propgated aloe.

lxsw5o.jpg

Clearly burnt from the sun(oops), but lighter than before and recovering. I almost killed the aloe babies by accident. Now that they're greening up and I will be growing them some before passing them along to other people who need some aloe in their lives.

So lesson learned, don't leave propagated aloe in the sun.

My cactus rotted
58rtw1.jpg
My sea urchin cactus (Echinopsis, also known as hedgehog cacti) have been in a downward spiral in the last few years and rot became more apparent over time at the base of the cacti. No pretty pink cacti flowers in two years, I made a move to throw my babies out, but wait...the cacti were clearly heavy and still alive. So I repotted two that looked unrotted and cut the rot from the other cacti and placed them on top of the soil. Crossing my fingers and hoping for the best!

jr44co.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency