Fruiting Cycad, My Rainforest Garden Update

A few months ago I published a post about my giant South African native Cycad Encephalartos lebomboensis, commonly known as the Lombondo Cycad, when it first started growing a huge pineapple in it's center.

https://steemit.com/photography/@enjoycompany/my-30-year-old-cycad-has-grown-a-pineapple

Yesterday we got a spot of rain, after a few months of drought, everything is struggling to survive even in the rainforest. The rain prompted my cycad's pineapple to break open, to reveals the fruit.

The rich red colour is spectacular and will no doubt attract the birds.

After handing these fruit, I discover that they are toxic and I should have worn gloves!

I am hoping that I can grow some babies from these seeds, a few of them have small roots sprouting g from the end already. I believe they are very difficult to grow from seed and it takes a long time before they start to sprout the big leaves. There are a few small ones near the base of the mother plant from last time it fruited (5 years ago) but they do not have the large leaves yet.

I will research how to germinate the seeds and update my blog when I have some emerging seedlings.
My 30 year old cycad 6 months ago:

###Thanks for reading.
enjoycompany@gmail.com

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency