Upstairs Winter Garden 2022 Update

One major hobby Iv picked up since quitting my first big boy job back in 2015 was gardening for food but what also came with that was a general love for growing things.

Lately, my growing fix has been centered around succulents and other cactus house plants… probably because their easy to keep alive during the winter cold months with fewer hours of sunlight.

img_3561.jpg

It’s a crude setup, a table with a towel in the room facing south. But the gnome community has flourished with the growing hobby.

img_3562.jpg

img_3564.jpg

img_3563.jpg

Sporting a bunch of cactus. One cactus in particular Iv kept alive since 2017 when I was living at my Fathers house long before life took its turns. Iv kept it in a small clay container for the several years, transplanting it into slightly larger clay pots over time.. allowing it to expand its size and even drop its pod-like extensions into other containers to begin growing new cactuses of the same type. A form of reproduction.

img_3559.jpg

My wife @kelsnm really desired to grow some snake plants, atleast that’s what she had named them.

img_3560.jpg

My mother grew this plant in the kitchen when I was a child. It would dangle it’s leaves feet below the surface it was sitting on, with branching suckers ready to start their own plants in new locations. I always enjoyed observing the plants spider like leaves, I hope to grow it to epic proportions. We acquired this plant in the late Summer 2021.

img_3558.jpg

A common air-plant that my Mother has gifted me two years ago . This seems to be the best shape it’s been in since acquiring it. Iv even observed suckers growing out the base of the plant recently.. perhaps I can create some more duplicates with these suckers.

img_3557.jpg

Best of all, my little helper man James has picked up an interest in the plants and takes the liberty to water them, taking precedence over me! Of course I still guide the little man.. overwatering is still a potential death sentence during
winter months.

Of course there are other plants I can’t quite share here yet..

Take care y’all!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency