Garden Pictures From The Last Week of August

Hello, hivers and garden lovers!

For today's post, I have a bunch of pictures from my gardens to show you.

First, a bit about my community garden plots.
The 2 plots that I've been busy with are both growing potatoes. The plot that I planted first has the early season potatoes, 4 rows of red potatoes and 3 rows Yukon Gold potatoes. The red potato plants have died back completely now and the gold potato plants are almost dead. In the other plot I have long season white potatoes and the Adirondack blue potatoes. Those plants are still growing. It's been hot and dry here for the last week or so, and I've had to water the potatoes several times to keep them growing. While I was watering the plants in the plot that is still growing, I decided to start digging the red potatoes. It gives me something to do while my irrigation system is going. So far, I've dug 2 rows, and I think I got about 20 pounds of potatoes from each row. I'm pretty happy with the results so far.
This is the potatoes from the second row.

DSCN5525.JPG

In the garden at home, things are continuing to grow except for the green beans. The plants are done producing beans, so I've been pulling them out of the garden and throwing the plants over the garden fence for the deer to clean up. I left a few plants in the raised bed because they have a fair amount of overgrown bean pods that I'm going to let go for seed beans. You can see some of the bean pods hanging from these plants.

DSCN5546.JPG

The carrots are still doing well. I think some of them are starting to get big enough to use.

DSCN5547.JPG

I'm starting to get a lot of tomatoes turning color on the plants now. I've already picked several batches of paste tomatoes, and enough of the other tomatoes to do a bit of canning with them. I still have a lot on the plants.

DSCN5542.JPG

DSCN5543.JPG

DSCN5544.JPG

I also still have a lot of tomatoes on the greenhouse plants that have not gotten fully ripe yet, and some green ones still.

DSCN5553.JPG

The zucchini plants are looking a bit rough now. They had powder mildew so I cut them back a lot, and sprayed the leaves with a neem oil solution. I'm going to have to do that again in the next day or 2, depending on the weather. I still have a few zucchinis on the plants, so I'm not going to pull the plants out yet.

DSCN5545.JPG

My weird squash-pumpkin hybrid plants have a lot of powder mildew, I have to spray those plants again also. The squash are starting to turn yellow between the green stripes, so they're getting mature. I had some of these last year, so I know what to expect from them. I also have a few yellow summer squash struggling along. I pulled half of those plants out, and cut back a lot of leaves last week. I should just pick what's on the plants and then pull the plants out of the garden.

DSCN5541.JPG

My "Pink Lady" runner beans seem to still be doing pretty well. The heat has them struggling a bit, but they're still growing and flowering. There's a few big bean pods on them now. The seeds for these beans are huge, so the pods get really big.

DSCN5552.JPG

The sunflower plants pretty much all have flowers now. A lot of the plants are from the black oil sunflowers that I feed the birds with, so they have multiple flower heads. Most of the secondary heads are just developing right now. Of course, this makes the bumblebees happy, and soon, the Goldfinches and Chickadees will be picking at them for the seeds.

DSCN5548.JPG

One more picture for you. The marigolds are continuing to bloom with several colors. These are fairly tall plants, and they get rather bushy. I was neglecting to water them for a while, but they started to look a bit stressed so I've been giving them more water. I water the 3 tomato plants that are in the raised bed with the marigolds, so the marigolds surrounding the tomato plants have been getting the benefit of that. As you can see, I pulled out all the bean plants that were in the big pots.

DSCN5550.JPG

That's all I have for this post, I hope you enjoyed the pictures!

hive garden banner.png

amberyooper banner.png

amber_yooper.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency