Harvesting the Sweet Potatoes very soon

We have been waiting since early spring for these to form. And now I am finding spuds surfacing from the wood mulch they grow in.

20201103_110916.jpg

With the recent frosts I am seeing the leaves start to turn. So first I plan on harvesting all of the viable leaves. And to blanche and boil them @cryptopie and @adamada told me how to use them for food and looking forward to trying.

20201103_110922.jpg

The second bed is also almost ready. The yellowing of the leaves is a sign its soon to be the end of their season.

20201103_110906.jpg

I am always amazed how easy it is to grow these vines. The hardest part is starting the slips in the early spring and making sure they get enough water. Though once they start growing quickly they seem to have their own metabolism or water reserves keeping them going when its dry.

Using a two level system these vines can have extra surface area to form leaves. I am hoping this design gives me more spuds, as more leaves can form growing more roots underground.

20201016_171435.jpg

The red spuds can be seen emerging from the woodchips. They have grown so big they are running out space.

20201016_171438.jpg

It's quite the jungle of vines in the raised bed. I see animals running in and out and hoping they are not munching on my spuds. We shall see when we pull them up if they have bite marks in them. Its possible animals are just hiding from falcon's and hawks in the deep foliage.

So maybe a week and I will harvest. Just waiting for more yellowing to be ready to pull them up.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency