Gardening Season 2021 - Tomato juice making, potato harvest and more updates (August 14 & 15)

Welcome to the mid-August garden update! It was a busy end of the week and I am finally sharing what has been going on. This time of the gardening season is always filled with tasks as there's a lot of harvesting going on and just making different things in order to prepare for winter.


First batch of tomato juice was made yesterday and we got 17 liters from it. It is a long process to make it, especially on a hot summer day, but it's totally worth it. There will be enough tomatoes for one more batch so we just have to wait for it to be ripe enough.


Couple of days ago we also harvested potatoes which is something we eat a lot as a family and for that reason it's always great to have a successful season. Now there's another empty spot in our garden after the potato harvest.


Quince tree is showing some progress and even though I don't like to consume it, I find their fluffy fruits so cute, haha. Maybe I should just look up some recipes that include quince and give it a try. Most of the grapes look good so far and I think that soon will be time to do a taste test. :)


Cherry tomatoes and blackberries are still going strong! Couple of days ago we had a big cherry tomato harvest (unfortunately I forgot to take a picture) and we gave a bunch to our neighbors because it was impossible for us to finish everything before it would go bad. Blackberries, as usual, go in the freezer but maybe I should try and make a simple dessert with the fresh ones while they are still in season.


Cabbage made a lot of progress since the last time I took a photo of it which was at the beginning of this month, I think. Seems like the watering system is doing a great job as there is no rain at all lately. Corn is also doing good, we haven't harvested any yet but hopefully soon.


Here we have peppers that are mostly doing well and some of them already got their red color. I love eating fresh peppers or adding them in salads and soon I'll be adding them to my menu. I also like mixing it with eggs and cherry tomatoes - such a delicious breakfast!


That's all for this short garden update post! Thank you so much for stopping by, I hope you had an amazing weekend!


banner.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency