Gardening Season 2021 - End of August garden update (August 30th)

Welcome to the last garden update for August! As we are approaching the end of gardening season for this year, there's way less exciting news to share but I still enjoy writing these posts as long as the gardening season lasts.


Yesterday when I took these photos it was actually a nice day compared to the entire previous week when it was rainy and cold. It feels like summer is definitely over which also means gardening season is coming to an end as well. Even though garden looks a little bit more empty each time I make an update here on Hive, it still looks nice and green. :) Rosemary is one of those things that just keeps getting bigger and gives a lot of life to the garden.


Now, here's something interesting that happened! Our DIY greenhouse was slowly falling apart and tomatoes found their way through the roof part of the greenhouse. I've never seen tomatoes this tall in my entire life and after this season, I think we won't keep the greenhouse anymore since it's in such a bad shape and we kind of don't need it anymore.


One thing we still have plenty of and it's on our daily menu is tomato. Last week when I was visiting my friend I brought her some of regular and cherry tomatoes together with peppers. We also share some with our neighbors as there is no way we can eat all of the tomatoes when they have a good season like this.


Few kinds of peppers are one of the veggies we have been enjoying lately and one of my favorite breakfast combinations is eggs, cherry tomatoes and red bell pepper with spices and herbs. I am not sure if we will have enough peppers to make ajvar, famous Serbian spread but I will keep you updated on that.


Cabbage is doing so well, I'm actually surprised every time I visit the garden. White grapes are looking good so far and I cannot wait to try them, hopefully they will taste nice and sweet.


In my last garden update, I think I shared about all the things we need to do in order to clean up some of the areas in our garden and cucumbers were on that list. here is the progress we have made so far but there's still some work left. For now we have one big discard pile that we also need to figure out what to do with. We are not in a rush but garden will definitely look way nicer after some cleaning up.


That sums up this post and August garden updates. It's kind of crazy to think September is already here and this year is also coming to an end. I hope I will have more interesting things to share in September when it comes to gardening life. :) Thank you for reading and I wish you all a wonderful day/night.


banner.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency