My apologies to the non-gardeners

I'm sorry for all the garden content lately. And now, here come the tomatoes! This content may annoy those who aren't interested, but also any gardeners who can't grow right now. I know how it feels to want to have green things in the dirt, but have something preventing it, so I feel for you if you're in that situation. Maybe my photos will allow you to live vicariously through my summer growing experience.

That's the first tomato to ripen - looks like it'll be ready tomorrow! And it's the first of hundreds.

The tomato patch is a mess, but it's prolific. Normally I stake up my plants more, but the lockdown (and new baby) had me pretty busy this year.

There's a nice Amish Paste! I have 2 varieties growing this year, both heirloom and 200% organic.

The other is Sweet 100:

They're my favourite for just eating right off the vine.

The Amish Paste are very hardy plants, and the tomatoes are great for sauces, canning, etc.

I think that's the largest so far. I'm happy with the weather here, having moved away from Vancouver's mild temperatures and drizzle. I've got a decent little patch of soil to play around with, and a good stock of heirloom seeds.

Stay tuned as the plants mature and the fruit begins to ripen. I'll do posts showing how I collect seeds for next year, and food I make using tomatoes and other produce right from the back yard.

If you can, grow in peace. If you can't, I'm sorry, I'm honestly not trying to make you sad. I hope next year has you back in the dirt again!

DRutter

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency