This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Hitting a brick wall in Starcraft 2 (can't get better)

I have been playing SC2 since a little while after launch. The game has been around near a decade and still enjoys a lot of popularity as far as multiplayer is concerned - this is free, by the way.

However, as a seasoned player I have noticed that while I am decent, and will quite easily win all the time on normal difficulty, I struggle to get any better than I am.

I normally play as zerg and this is probably where I excel. My normal objective is to rush zerglings early, then develop some level of air defense while I work on powering up my "air force" while I eventually build broodlords who will make the takeover of almost any enemy base a piece of cake.

There doesn't seem to be any other strategy that will work for me, no matter how much I try to make it happen.


almost nothing can stand up against a large group of these bad boys

I have tried incorporating the magical units into my rotation but find myself unable to locate them at the right momen - by magical I mean the units that don't have any or very little direct attack capabilities but can do things like take control of an enemy unit, etc.

The "mid-level" units or even heavy ground units like Ultralisks take too many resources to produce and are completely helpless against aerial units. So here is what inadvertently ends up happening to ever single SC match that I play.

  • do the usual stuff like spawning pool to get offensive units out the door asap
  • get one "battalion" of hydralisks for aerial defense
  • step off zergling production once the enemy develops adequate defenses against the rush
  • bunker down and go through the long process of developing broodlords
  • win the match or get annihilated because building broodlords takes a LONG time.


broodlord-sc2.jpg
there is no ground based enemy, and few aerial ones that can withstand this level of assault

I have gotten slightly better as I incorporate more "keyboard" tricks into my rotation, but this is minor. I still use a laptop keyboard to play and I know this is holding me back. I think that the next phase is going to be mastering the keyboard rather than mastering the gameplay. I feel as though we reach a certain point where it isn't about strategy nearly as much as it is about speed of commands.

If you play I would appreciate any insight because it is a little bit frustrating that I can quite easily defeat "medium" enemies but "hard" enemies clean the floor with me.