All Hands on The Steam Deck?

Portable computing has become a key part of my life for the past part few months, perhaps even a whole year. Remote working and relocation have somewhat forcibly made me once again pay attention to the mobile computing market. Valve opened pre-orders for their portable computing device, Steam Deck a short while ago. As expected, orders went out the door immediately and I unfortunately did not get my hands on one this time round.

Portable gaming PCs have been around for a long while, devices such as the GPD WIN3 are stacked with features and have attracted portable gaming enthusiasts over the years. I recall looking into it a while back, even before the debut of the Nintendo Switch. But the question always remained, was it worth it? At the price point of around a thousand dollars, it’s hard to bite my teeth into.

Gaming on the go has been something I’ve enjoyed with the Nintendo Switch. Game library, homebrew access and portability has been amazing on journeys. The switch launched with a price tag of $299 and was a day one pick up at such a low price point. Now at $399 for the entry level Steam Deck, I am highly interested once more. Access to potentially my entire steam collection and avenues to upgrade storage makes even the mid-tier $529 spec an attractive prospect. Valve also claim to have made significant drive towards ergonomics and controller design, something that makes me remember how much I hate Joy Cons!

AMD and their APUs have made AAA gaming on the go a reality. The Switch has probably helped usher in interest in dockable consoles and gamers from various backgrounds are taking an interest, Valve have timed this launch very well. Personally, I can wait a little longer before dipping into Valve’s hardware but I’m particularly interested in the communities that will form around the device. I am certain there will be much to explore in the capabilities of the device and use cases will stretch far and wide. Steam Deck is primarily a gaming device but I will also be keeping an eye on the productivity that comes out of it and general performance. An exciting time for gamers and portable computing enthusiasts all over!

Steam Deck:

https://store.steampowered.com/steamdeck

Lockhart Tech Blogs

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency