A warning about 'Blockchain' Games (crypto brewmaster)

I explore a myriad of blockchain games, dozens. I play a handful every single day.

As this is the #HIVE blog, I will focus on HIVE games now.

I hope we can agree to some fundamental principles of blockchain, and why it is an extraordinary use for games. That is, you OWN your assets. Right? You are playing a 'blockchain' game, you expect to have blockchain items!

If you look at #splinterlands, you'll see, every action, your important items are blockchain. Your packs, your cards, and more. This is critical. It offers transparency, it's trustless & provable - indisputable inception and ownership! We can 'audit' the game AND the assets, so to speak.

Then there's #risingstar another great HIVE-backed game, with NFT assets, cards, and such. Again, player OWNED assets, on the blockchain. No one can STEAL them from you. That's the beautiful thing. If they blocked your items, oh everyone would know, and oh there would be BIG big trouble down the road (illegal / banned items? No thx - scammer paridise) And I could go on and on of the benefit of your chain items, but we know they're great!

That brings me to #cryptobrewmaster I had some tough questions for them in discord, which I was ultimately banned from. This is NOT a game where you own the items. The lead moderator, the guy always there alone at the top of the channel informed me that the items are stored on a private centralized server, owned by the crypto brewmaster game.

So this begs the question, IS it a blockchain game? You surely don't OWN your items in that way that you own a blockchain-issued one, do you?

They have a marketplace and accept cryptocurrency for their spreadsheet server items, just like any old game. I ask, is this a BLOCKCHAIN game? Or a fraud masquerading as one? Without NFT items, is just selling your items for cryptocurrency enough to classify you as a CRYPTOGAME? I think not!!!!!

What's next, are my items safe? If I SPEAK out and tell the truth about this game, and it's shortcomings, will my items be STOLEN? They could! That's what I need to worry about now. I don't OWN the items in this blockchain game. It's on their server. Their rules. Hidden rules, no accountablity. The spirit of blockchain is lost.

Do not follow that path. Play 100% pure blockchain games where YOU OWN YOUR ITEMS!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency