This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

CRUSADER KINGS 2: HOLY FURY - FUEL FOR THOUGHT

Deus Vult

It's that time of the week again where we talk about my most recent Strategy Gamer article.

CRUSADER KINGS 2: HOLY FURY - FUEL FOR THOUGHT

The hardest thing to put together in this article was not the imagery because that was largely provided in the dev notes, and it wasn't the facts because those are thick on the ground – the hardest part was that I had a very, very hard word count limit of 2000 words.

If you haven't read much of the work that I do it may come as some surprise that I have a problem keeping things succinct. I like words, I like looking at words, I like writing words, and for me there is no end to the amount of words that I'm willing to throw out on a specific subject. Especially if I'm interested.

Crusader Kings 2 is not my favorite Paradox game. It is a complicated, detailed, lovingly re-created simulation-game of medieval politics and warfare in the grand strategy vein. It's a little too concentrated on the personal for me to really engage with it as much as I enjoy doing so with Europa Universalis 4 or Stellaris. That doesn't mean that I don't enjoy marrying a woman for her money, forcing her to have my male offspring, then imprisoning her in the dungeon and sacrificing her to Satan as much as the next guy – but you just can't do it all day every day.

Holy Fury looks to be adding content to CK2 such that you could almost begin to see the outlines of an actual RPG hanging out inside the body of this massive grand strategy game, and that's a cool thing. I'm curious as to whether they're going to keep pushing in this direction for CK2, because the more they do so, the more interested I am in following along.