Punch Out!! - A game that has accompanied me since childhood

Since I was a child I always liked the world of fights and fights, things like boxing, Karate or Kung Fu was a very striking visual entertainment for me, I remember that I could not stop watching the movie BloodSport, I will always have it as one of the most outstanding classics of the 80s with respect to this genre.

This emotion for the martial arts was transmitted towards video games, at that time there were hundreds of games of different styles, but there was one of them that really lasts months in front of the TV screen playing it, this was Punch Out!

I was lucky enough to play it through a generic cartridge sold by the merchants of a shopping mall near my home, it had many games, but when I could experience that fabulous video game just could not leave it, each level represented a new challenge which you had to learn the movements of your rival to be able to knock him out as efficiently as possible.

With time I decided to look for the official Nintendo cartridge, that's when I realized that there was a version of Mike Tyson, a boxer who at the time was impressive to see him fight in the boxing ring and to be able to fight him in a video game seemed to me something unique, so I looked for that version and it gave me hundreds of hours of fun.

Years went by and the 16-bit era would arrive, where I would know many titles like Street Fighter or The King of Fighter, but it was in 1994 that I would go through my eyes the sequel of one of the games I enjoyed the most, Super Punch-Out!! for the SNES, improving all aspects of its predecessor as graphics, gameplay and standing out especially in the difficulty.

Although it was an excellent sequel, it lacked something that its predecessor had, but it was very difficult to find because all its gameplay was so addictive that it didn't allow you to think about what things might have included, without a doubt its developers did an excellent job.

After this video game would enter the era of 32 and 64 bits where I could enjoy other titles of this genre such as Street Fighter Alpha 3 (one of my favorite video games) but there were no intentions on the part of Nintendo to launch a new sequel to the fabulous boxing game.

Finally the 128-bit era would come in, for my part the idea of there being a sequel to Super Punch Out! was totally ruled out, however, in 2009 I got a big surprise, Next Level Games would be the developer that would make one of the most awaited games by many fans, was the long-awaited sequel to Punch Out! for the Nintendo Wii console.

At first I was a little skeptical about the controls which were through movements, but giving them a chance was magical, the way I could control Little Mac was really incredible. However, it wasn't all about the moves, it was also the strategy you had to discover to advance through each of its levels.

On the cover, I realised that there was a Wii Fit board that was compatible with the game, so much so that I looked for a second-hand board to try it out. The result was spectacular, a gameplay so complete that it made you feel like you were in a boxing ring, and also exercised you physically, because after an hour and a half of play I felt a great pain in the abs.

Punch Out! for me was a video game that accompanied me for decades, time has not stopped being as good as it was in its beginning, each of its sequels are unique and stupendous, being able to entertain anyone who plays them.

Have you ever played Punch Out!!? Tell me your opinion in the comments section.

See You!!!

To see the sources of the images you must click on them


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency