My passion and addiction for Rally video games

There are an enormous amount of racing games, among them we can locate motorcycles, cars, trucks, jet skis, bicycles and many more. Each one of these games has an audience that is in charge of keeping the community alive, in my case I feel a great devotion and addiction to a specific genre within these games, it is Rally video games.

This feeling for this type of game was not born overnight, it all started a long time ago with a computer, to be exact a 386, in it I played many video games, among them is Prince of Persia which I will never forget, but there was a racing game that always caught my attention, this was Test Drive.

As the years went by I experienced more racing games, Top Gear for the SNES was one of them, the feeling of speed that made me feel was something inexplicable, but when I got my hands on its second part called Top Gear 2 was simply amazing, improved graphics, the possibility of improving the car in every way, no doubt one of my favorite games.

That's when I realized that racing games, specifically car games would be one of my favorites, every title I got my hands on tried it over and over again, Need for Speed 2 was one of them, I loved to watch videos of the vehicles and drive them on each of their tracks.

Then that same year (1997) I experienced a video game of a completely new racing genre for me, it was Top Gear Rally, at that time I began to investigate what this type of racing was about, when I discovered that world I was surprised, it was no longer a simple circuit where the cars were spinning, it was running at the maximum speed possible on an unknown terrain, full of dirt, asphalt, dangerous curves, mountains, snow and more.

But Top Gear Rally didn't offer exactly what I researched, even though it was a game I still liked was based on circuits, but in 1998 I discovered the video game that would completely change the balance of racing games on a personal level, Colin McRae Rally on the great PlayStation. It was love at first sight, I only experienced the first 5 minutes and wanted to pass absolutely all its tracks.

What I felt when playing this video game was something different, the landscapes, the speed of the cars, the sound they emit, the possibility of crashing and being totally disabled for the race, listening carefully to the instructions of my guide, was something that I had never been able to live in another video game, and the feeling of being totally alone in a remote place was something that I loved.

From that moment the Rally video games became for me a complete addiction, I began to try them all, some disappointed me, others met my expectations, considering that my teacher in this type of games was Colin McRae Rally always took it as an example of comparison for any video game of this genre.

Colin McRae Rally Dirt and its sequel Dirt 2 I consider them masterpieces, especially when I experience the graphics of the last mentioned (I remember that I played it with an AMD 5870 in DX10) to be able to observe the real landscapes and go through those places at high speed and with a latent danger that the adrenaline increased in my body, something that until today I could not experiment with another type of game.

Although I've actually played other titles like Forza which is a good video game I don't have the same feeling when playing a Rally game, just thinking about going to a remote place, away from the city at a high speed is something that fascinates me as a video player. I'm currently preparing to play DiRT Rally 2.0, I'm sure it will consume me for a long time.

What do you think about racing and rally games? I'd like to know what you think in the comments section.

See You!!!

To see the sources of the images you must click on them


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency