Disgaea #2: Treasured Memories

Disgaea 2 was the first Disgaea I played. As I play it now on PC, nostalgia/my treasured memories play a big role in my enjoyment.

Disgaea-2-4K-Wallpaper.jpg

Years ago, a friend gave me few PSP games for me and my brother to play. DanganRonpa (patched) & Disgaea 2 were my favorites. Before that I have heard about a game that allows you to reach lv9999 and I was excited to know that this was that game after I started playing it.

With how it approaches Gaming, Strategy & RPG tropes, parodying them sometimes, using them generic at the most unexpected times. Disgaea 2 made me laugh, A Lot!!

Over90,000,000.jpg
I laughed hard at this part ^

It felt like the best parody of traditional RPGs ever!!

Unlikely Party

The main character set includes, a powerful human, a child of an overlord, a forgotten Celebrity, a FROG!! A NINJA & a demon lor- Beauty Queen!!

Adell our hero is a big case of Honor Before Reason, and he's too naive to care. As the only human who wasn't effected by the Overlord Zenon's curse, he tries to summon the overlord to free his family from his curse. But he has summoned his daughter instead.

AdellActuallySummonedZenon?.jpg

Through the story it occurred to me that he's more than his combined tropes, he's not stupid he just values promises and would die for them.

Rozalin is a very interesting character, she has too much pride as the only daughter of the ruler of the world, but she never once left her castle. She doesn't know how to fight because she never needed to, which proves she's too strong as she learned to save herself quickly.

Rozalin is a good person inside, but she can't show her empathy since she's the ruler of them all. She is too attached to her father but does he really love her?

As far as I know both are the youngest Disgaea protagonists.
Despite looking older than the most other games main characters.

Adell ♥ Rozalin

If I'm gonna choose my favorite characters of all Disgaea's I've seen (pretty much only D1,2 & 3.) Adell & Rozalin would be in TOP 10!! I love their relationship, both are prideful. Both have good personalities but don't know how to act good.

Hopefully I'll write a full Review of the game

20180430191113_1.jpg
I mean, It's time to go...

I love the twists that start happening from mid to late game.
And I really like the (back)story of Overlord Zenon!!

So, what do you think?

If you want to know more about Disgaea you can check my review of the first game, my other post about how Disgaea approaches LOVE theme, or my previews post here I talk about my love for the series.


Cover image is from Disgaea 2 promotional images, other images are screenshots of the PC version. All images are used for review purposes.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency