Persona 5 Royal "Meet The Phantom Theives" Trailer: It Looks Good But...

I don't plan on getting Persona 5 Royal. I finished the original P5 on PS4 and I'm not sure if the new content is worth the price.

Persona 5 Royal! is an updated re-release of Persona 5 which adds new characters, a party member and an additional third to the story. It was released in Japan in October 2019 has is going to be released in English in March 2020.

Just recently the publisher of the game, Atlus released a trailer showing the party members of Persona 5 Royal in action. You can watch the trailer below:

This trailer looks good, I'm sure it will make both existent and new fans excited for the game. The new party member Kasumi is cute!

They have also shown Akechi in this trailer. He joins the team a bit late in the game, and because I played it blind, I didn't know that he will be in my team. (Well, there was a foreshadowing for him.) I enjoyed Akechi's character arc in the original and it seems he will play a bigger role in Royal.

327wlc.jpg

So, while Persona 5 Royal has its merits I don't know if its worth it for people who played the original (which is a complete experience, hence why I don't plan on getting P5R.)

Persona 5 is being sold as a Playstation Hits title on the PS Store for $19.99. Persona 5 Royal will be sold at $59.99 and will have additional content in paid DLCs. I don't think the new content is worth the extra $40, but that's just my opinion.

In its first week, the Japanese version of Royal sold 201,000+ copies, wile the original (PS3+PS4 combined) sold 344,000+ copies. So you could say, that the re-release got a weaker debut. Since P5R English is getting a release ten days before Final Fantasy VII Remake, I think that will affect the sales even more.

I still want P5R to do well...Only time will tell us now.

What do you think?


Cover image is taken from Siliconera. Akechi image is a screenshot from the linked video.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency