Cozy Days in [ Harvest Moon ]

Just the other day I read a long paper on Coziness in gaming. (here's a link.) It's closer to research on what generates cozy atmosphere/feelings for the player. The paper that cozy games focus on the higher needs of the players, the non-urgent but important things like self-recollection, relationships and mastery.

A game I played in the past that's full of coziness is:
Harvest Moon!

Harvest Moon is about managing a farm, caring about animals and building relationships with the town's people. If you played Stardew Valley, it's the same thing (if you played either, I recommend the other one.)

lg6b2sgal3.jpg

Few years ago, the series changed name to "Story of Seasons" outside japan. But I'm talking about the older games in the series, especially: Harvest Moon Mineral town games. I loved the characters of these games.

I played mineral town games many times. The PS1 game, Back to Nature. and the GBA boy & girl version of the game (More/Friends of Mineral town.) I also played other games like the Harvest Moon DS and the sister series: Rune Factory, which I think deserves its own post.

m8xkz6hnc4.png
(Back to Nature begining)

Each play-through I tend the farm in different way, sometimes I go for best looking farm. Sometimes I try to get wealthy. In winter, I try to get as much gems as possible from the mine. Though my most beloved aspect of the games is the characters.

In all Harvest Moon games I played, I loved all the characters. Doubly so in Mineral Town games. I liked the potential spouse characters and tried to win their heart, getting my character a wife each time (husband for the girl versions.) I especially liked the nurse Elli.


sdfyso7q9t.png
(potential wives)

The Harvest Moon games give me a wonderful feeling each time I play. When most of the games are about battling and competition. Games like these, where you just spend time with village people are great to have a cozy time.


First image is made using image from here, and title from here. The second & third images are taken from Harvest Moon wiki.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency