My first game project

Hello fellow coders, designers, artists and gamers,

as a gamer, I have always been fascinated by the people that spent so much work, thought and blood in creating the games I enjoyed for many hours each week.

Since I started gaming, I wanted to do this too. I wanted to spent my time creating games. I got into programming, mostly web development, but I never really pursuit this dream.

A month ago, I reduced my job to half time to start a second half time job as software developer. I have been learning so much since then and I really appreciate that my company opens that oportunity to me.
Said company is a web development agency specialized in e-commerce, which is really handy for me as this field interests me the most in webdev.

So earlier this week, I got notice of a new humblebundle comming out which contains game assets (there were a few before I think, which I missed). For those of you who dont know humblebundle.com, they bundle up games, books or other software and let you pay what you want (mostly), with the cash going to charity (you can customize who gets how much). They are really great in what they do!
So I bought this bundle, downloaded Godot, looked for a tutorial on youtube and just started building!

Why I went with Godot? Its open source, which I really like. Its programmend in its own language GDScript, which is similar to Python. Due to it being open source, its stays free for you, no matter how big your game gets (thats not the case with unity and unreal)

So this is what I came up with in the last 3 hours.
I have no idea and no concept for this yet. Guess I will just see where this takes me.

Code on!

  • Dumper
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency