What does the future hold for us? | My feelings about Steem

Change is bad, it brings uncertainty. We feel safer and more secure in a place we are familiar with, even if something else could be better. The devil you know is better than the angel you don't know.

I could go on for hours. A lot of negative implications are linked to change, evolution is a hard concept to grasp because as human beings, we crave security and safety.

Having to change schools, try out a new job, move to a different city, hell, even trying out a foreign weird dish could represent a challenge for us. It is engraved on our monkey brain that familiarity, routine and things staying the same are linked with safety.

I have been using the Steem Blockchain for almost three years

I feel at home on Steem, or at least I used to feel at home. Steem and it's dApps were my first real contact with cryptocurrency and they opened my eyes and widened my horizon regarding all the posibilities the Blockchain Technology holds for us. Steem made me realize that there's a whole different world here, full of oportunities to learn new skills, develop old ones, to meet people, get the hold of new ways of interacting with people and much more.

Steem allowed me to learn and become familiar with homesteading, anarchy, anti-big government, homeschooling, travel blogs... damn, it even gave me the chance to develop my writing skills to the point where I feel pretty comfortable writing short stories for myself and to have people reading them in real life.

But I don't feel at home at Steem anymore.

I think I don't even need to mention why, in fact, I don't want to use this post to talk about the recent events involving the Steem Blockchain or the new actors in place.

I want change. Well no, I don't want change. I actually want evolution. I want a 2.0

I want what this place gave me, but without all the negative aspects of it. I need a space like the one I used to have here, but without all the economic problems this place has. I crave a Blockchain that has a decentralized leadership and that is run by the community, for the community and protecting the interests of the community. I desire a token that it's price is not subject to a single entity's mood and the chain development is not up to a single team's abilities and capacity.

Imagine if we had the chance to be part of a new Blockchain that holds a copy of everything we have written on Steem, how many posts we have, how many tokens we hold, who we follow and who follows us back, the transaction history... in short, everything we have on Steem, but without the negative parts alredy mentioned?

Imagine the dream of what Steem used to be, what we wanted it be, now continued, improved and ready for us to populate it.

Change is not bad. At least not in this scenario

I wouldn't mind changing my home. In fact, I wouldn't mind at all leaving the Steem Blockchain and start my new life in a new one, provided that it gave me everything I mentioned above.

Evolution is not bad, it shouldn't scare us, in fact we should embrace it.

Do you want to know the best part of all this?

That new home that I'm talking about, could be on the very next corner, and I'm about to jump in full force into it. I hope you're ready for it and you decide to come with me.

This is the very first picture I took for Steem. It feels right to use it for this post. Damn, it's been almost three years since I took this.

It will for sure be hard to start my life in another Blockchain, but to be honest, I'm very excited and looking forward to do it.

In the meantime, I will keep writing here to keep in touch with you guys, the very heart of this blockchain. The community is the most important part of Steem, and I can't wait for all of us to find a new home where we are valued, protected and our opinion is actually listened to.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency