There has been some big Star Wars news this month. (So. Much. Star Wars!!!!)

This has been a crazy month for Star Wars fans.



First, a new trailer was released for the final season of Disney HD's Rebels. If you have never seen this show, you should check it out. Not only is it canon, some of its characters have been seen and mentioned in Rogue One. In addition, rumor has it that more of the characters will find their way into the new Star Wars Universe. Oh... and it has Admiral Thrawn. He's an awesome villain and one of my personal favorites.


Then, news leaked that Episode IX would be delayed by nearly seven months. The final episode in the original Star Wars saga was originally set to be released on May 24, 2019. After ousting director Colin Trevorrow, this was bound to happen. Honestly, I was actually relieved.

And by "relieved" I mean I was...



First, I do not want the studio to rush the production of this very important movie (for me and every other geek I know... including my kids). I want them to take their time and get it right.

Second, I was thrilled to hear that Colin Trevorrow had been removed as director. I would wait an entire extra year if it meant he was as far, far away from the Star Wars Galaxy as possible. Although I loved his first movie Safety Not Guaranteed, I hated Jurassic World more than any movie in recent memory. I actually laughed out loud on more than one occasion. After the movie ended, I asked the large group of friends I was with two questions: How the hell did that woman run around in the muddy jungle in giant high heels? And was the writer/director kidding? I honestly thought the movie may be a parody of itself a la Gremlins 2. Sadly, I found that it was not a parody. I couldn't stand the idea of this goof ruining Star Wars that way.



I still don't know if this is a real product... just like I didn't know if it were a real movie.

Next, the first cameo in The Last Jedi has been confirmed. Joseph Gordon-Levitt is going to voice an alien in the film slated to be released on December 15. I'm still mad that no-one has produced a Nightwing film starring Levittt... so this will have to do for now.

Warning possible spoiler below.

Is this a leaked image of Levitt from the set of The Last Jedi?



Why yes I am a millionaire. Why do you ask?

Ummm no.

In addition to this cameo, there are rumors of several others including Tom Hardy, Prince Harry, Prince William, and British pop star Gary Barlow. (Don't forget Daniel Craig played a Stormtrooper in The Force Awakens... and he spoke!)

Now the BIG ONE. Instead of finding a new creative team to replace Trevorrow...

J.J. Abrams is going to return to co-write and direct Episode IX.









I am thrilled!


Why am I so excited?

  1. I loved The Force Awakens. I thought it was the perfect bridge between crusty old fans like me and a whole new generation of fans like my daughter (my son has been a crusty old fan since birth).

  2. This will finally settle an on-going debate between me and some of my friends. Some of my pals think that Abrams is a hack who merely ripped off the entire story of Star Wars, added some new characters and effects, and passed it off as something new. I argue that it was a perfect reboot of the saga. It was the bridge I mentioned earlier. If Episode IX features non-blinking giant Teddy Bears and a scene of Rey dragging Kylo Ren out of a crumbling Starkiller base... then I was wrong. If it is completely original (as I anticipate) then I was right and I can rub it in my friends' stupid faces. Oh wait. I mean I can have a civil discourse with them and accept my victory with dignity and class... and then rub it in their stupid faces!

  3. I am not a Star Trek purest. Many Trekkies feel that Abrams destroyed their beloved universe. On the other hand, I thought he rebooted , modernized and improved Star Trek (please don't shoot me with a phaser). But I can't argue with them. If anyone who has loved Star Trek from birth says Abrams ruined Star Trek for them... who am I to tell them otherwise? Luckily I don't feel that way, so I am filled with hope that he will nail Episode IX.

One thing is for sure, it is a glorious time to be a Star Wars fan.



It's an even better time to be the dad of a couple of them!

Images 1, 2, 3 4, 5, 6, 7, 8

http://www.slashfilm.com/joseph-gordon-levitt-has-a-cameo-in-star-wars-the-last-jedi/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
132 Comments
Ecency