Fruits and Veggies Monday: Cooked from the Scratch

It's Monday again and its exciting because its #fruitsandveggiesmonday, initiated by a wonderful Steemian @lenasveganliving.

There are times that i don't know what to cook or sometimes i'm lazy to go to the market for shopping, perhaps the heat sets me off, (we live in a very hot country, UAE).

So back to my real issue, cooking from the scratch can be really good and fun. I checked my fridge, and thought for a minute what to cook and how to cook it.

image

I have got cabbage, carrot, green beans, few mushrooms, sprigs of coriander leaves and celery. Of course, onion, garlic and peppercorns. Hhmmn, i can make a vegetable soup for all that.

image

I basically added all everything that's available in my fridge. No right, no wrong.

So here is how i made it:

  • chopped all the vegetables in a bite size pieces.

image

  • put all the chopped vegetables in a boiling pot of water (4-5 cups). You can use vegetable stock too.
  • once boiled, simmer for 30 minutes. Add the coriander leaves, salt and pepper to taste.

image

  • serve warm and savor!

image

The soup was very tasty. The broth can really make a difference to bring out the taste of the soup, The coriander leaves gives a zingy kick on the dish.

Family enjoyed it. I am going to make this again sometime soon. Cooking must be fun and creative, nutritious, and a good way to save money too.

Hope you try it, its fantastic!

I would love to know what you think?

Thank you everyone.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency