FRUITS & VEGGIES MONDAY CHALLENGE - Farmers Market Journey!!!

Greetings my lovely Steemians around the world!

Fruitsandveggiesmonday is one of my most favorite challenge running on Steemit by the one and only @lenasveganliving! I really enjoy discovering so many entries each week where I get to see new fruits and vegetables that I've never seen before!

The only problem is that I have participated only once before and I already apologized to @lenasveganliving about that and I am sure she understand my position! The main reason is that I am really very busy with Steemit Iron Chef and also because I rarely post twice a day, this means less post for me so basically less contest too! But i will see very soon see if I can make 2 posts per day...well let's wait and see!

For now let's discover my second ever entry into fruitsandveggiesmonday challenge!


As I have said in many of my posts before, I am a great lover of farmers market! Normally I go to the farmers market at least once a week and it is mainly on Fridays that I go there!
The last time I went, I did not forget to bring my camera along and managed to take some pics before my hands were blocked with the bags!Lol!

Enjoy the small journey!

DSC_0092.JPG

The above photo is inside the market.
I love that ambiance!


DSC_0119.JPG

The red peppers were of top quality that day...but do you know how expensive they are in Mauritius!? Well I don't have any idea about other countries of the world, but these ones were $1 - $1.5 each!


DSC_0076.JPG

The green beans were looking lovely and affordable too! Less than $0.5 half kilo!


DSC_0086.JPG

In Mauritian cuisine we use a lot of garlic!
Garlic really add special taste to your dish! Did you know that each different way you cut a garlic gives you a different taste!?
Finely chopped, coarsely chopped, sliced, whole, halves... each one gives you a different taste...try it and you'll notice it!


DSC_0105.JPG

I was so happy to finally find some local cauliflowers on the stalls! They were not the best of qualities, but we all know local is always the best!


DSC_0109.JPG

Fresh corns were still available in the market!
I normally buy 5 pieces which is more than enough for us at home! The 5 pieces cost me around $2.


DSC_0124.JPG

One of my most favorite vegetables in the world!
I love bottle gourd so much that I can eat it everyday! They can be quite expensive some time reaching $2.5 each!


And I will end the post with these lovely grapes...well they are not local as we don't have it in Mauritius!

These are imported from South Africa!

DSC_0127.JPG


So here you are with my little journey in the farmers market, I could not take more photos, as both my hands were carrying heavy bags of vegetables!Lol!

I would like to thank @lenasveganliving for putting this challenge up and giving me the opportunity to share these photos with you all!

I really hope you enjoyed it!

Looking forward to your comments!

@progressivechef

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now