Last Sorceress: Detention, chapter 3 - Meeting my Grandma (Luna's POV)

Next chapter! Enjoy!

If you missed the last chapter you can read it here!
@gracepro/last-sorceress-detention-chap-2

All I could think as I fell was why did I open that stupid book? What was I thinking? It’s a witch’s book! Finally, I stopped falling. I was in a forest. I tried to lean on a tree for support, the fall had made me tired, but my hand just went through it. What kind of magic is this, I thought.

25 of the world's most magical jungle adventures

Logan wasn’t here. I looked around. It seemed more like a jungle. Weird. A man lay on the tree, he didn’t go through it like me. He looked about 50. He woke up suddenly. Then I heard it too. A cackling kind of sound. Like a fire.

The guy grabbed a knife. I saw a woman by a fire, warming her hands. The man killed her in an instant. Then I realized who the man was. Aberon. Witch hunter. The woman didn’t seem evil though, like in the stories.

Suddenly I was teleported to a bunker. A woman was covering a younger witch's mouth. They looked, afraid. It almost made me feel bad. “Go,” the older witch mouthed to the younger one. The girl grabbed a bag and ran down the tunnel and through the woods. She stopped once, taking a deep breath. She spread her arms and the trees seemed to move out of her way. Then she began to run again.

300 Season of the Witch ideas in 2022 | season of the witch, witch, dark  beauty

Then, I was back in the real world, my time. Logan stood next to me, like he had not moved. The book was still in my hands. I tried giving it to Logan, but he didn’t move, let alone breathe or blink. What the? I waved my hand in front of his face. He didn’t move. So weird. I put the book into my bag and ran.

What was I supposed to do? Everyone was frozen. I ran in my cottage and slammed the door. I sat down against it. Someone knocked. I must admit, I freaked out. I looked out the window to see a woman, the woman from the vision, the younger one. But she looked much older. I decided to open the door.

I only thought this was a bad idea when I remembered she was a witch. She looked at me and gave me a smile of crooked teeth. I was terrified, but I wouldn’t let her know that. And then she spoke. Her voice was full of air, as if she was running out of breath every time she spoke. She spoke in her witch language. I had never been taught this language, but somehow I understood.

“Hello, child. I don’t want to hurt you. I’m here to tell you something about yourself.” I was very confused. What did she know about me? Then I remembered something. Common sense. I couldn’t trust her. She’s a witch. She is an enemy. And yet… I couldn’t shake the feeling that she wasn’t evil. When she ran off all those years ago, she didn’t look like she was going to kill. She looked like she was scared. Real fear. I had seen that before in all the orphans faces. Fear that they would never find a home. But I knew that better than anyone. That fear had been inside me since I was an infant. “Come in, but if you come at me, let’s just say I have a frying pan I’m not afraid to use,” I said. The witch laughed. It was a laugh you would hear if you just told a cheesy joke. I was surprised at this. I thought her laugh would be like the laughs they say in story books. The witch came in.

The Modern Witch (Updated for Maximum Capeyness) - Album on Imgur | Modern  witch fashion, Strega fashion, Witchy outfit

Her outfit looked very old fashioned and she wore a green cloak. She looked so ancient, I’m surprised she’s still alive. “What do you want,” I asked. “Tea.” I started to make a fresh pot of lemon tea. She sat down at the wooden table. I started not to worry. She wasn’t going to hurt me. She wanted to help me. Or she wanted me to help her. Either way, I started to feel like I could trust her.

As I poured the tea into a mug she spoke again. “So, what’s your name, child?” “Luna.” I gave her a mug and sat down. “But who are you,” I asked. “My name is Lilian,” the witch said. “And I’m your grandmother.” I was speechless. No. That couldn’t be possible. She was a witch. “But I’m not a witch,” I said. “Has there ever been proof that you're not,” Lilian asked. She was right. But what proof could there be? When I told her that, she chuckled. “How else would you have opened the book? Yes, I know about the book. It was mine, and then your mother’s. And then your older brother’s. And now it has found you.” “Older brother?”

“Yes. Charlie. He was a good boy. Curious. Adventurous. But he trusted people too much. Lived a good life. Married. Had kids. But he was killed when he turned 30 by a witch hunter. The next thing anyone knew, you were born. Right after your mother named you she died.” I was very unsure what to say. This couldn’t be true. “This is madness!” “Magic and Madness. Two words. They mean the same thing if you can’t control it.” I was so confused. This wasn’t happening.

Best 500+ Black Magic Pictures | Download Free Images on Unsplash

“How are you alive then,” I asked. “I’m not. I died a long time ago. Long before your brother was even born. But I’ve been watching over you all. Now that you found the book I was able to talk to you. I can’t stay much longer.” “What do you mean?” She chuckled. “You’ll understand when you're older. Now I must be heading off, but remember this. I’m always watching you. And I love you, Luna. But over everything else, remember these words. When night falls, we rise, we are feared in the sun. When people hear us, they scream and they run. But as I said, when the moon comes out, you will definitely hear our horrible shout. And when you do you should be afraid. For we are the monsters that usually are laid, in the fantastic, fantastic, place of La-Mout, where we live and harvest the purple trout. Now come my darling, if you feel dangerous or the same, as the one they rarely give a name.”

I had no idea what she was talking about. What creature was more powerful in the moonlight? Where and what is this place La-Mout? I glanced at my map. There was no part of it that said La-Mout. And who is the one with no name? I was going to ask her all these questions, but then she started to shine. She started to disappear. “Lilian,” I exclaimed. “There’s nothing you can do, Luna. This was going to happen, but I’ll always be watching you from above with your mother and your brother. Now go. Live your life. But be careful. I love you.” And then she was gone.

I looked out my window. A bird was singing. Everything and everyone was unfrozen. I grabbed the book and put it as far away from me as possible. I was a sorceress. A witch. But how could that be? Aberon killed all the people like me. And yet I was alive.

Vintage early 1960s light blue cotton dress with white lace trim and puff  sleeves | Blue cotton dress, Fashion 1960s, 60s fashion

I went to my room and took a board out of my floor. I placed the book in there and the board on top of it. This couldn’t be possible. But for some reason, I believed it. I mean, I was an orphan who never knew anything about her family. Who’s to say they weren’t witches? I cleaned up the house. Then I felt something cold on my dress. Tea. I sighed and went to my room, picking out a light blue dress with white lace. It was time to tell Logan about all of this.

So Luna's magical. But she won't be alone for long! Stay tuned!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency