Two suicides

"But the lines were down and they could not get a direct connection," the house owner said.
He had figured it out and the police had neglected him."
I am sure they would have called for help. They are not the kind of people who would commit suicide without any reason. You know how they are."
He waited for my response but I had a hard time remembering the two he mentioned. During this period of the year I was used to live on my boat instead of my apartment.
"I might have bumped into them once," I said. He frowned and stared at me as if I was insane.
"Give me a break. Those two helped you to move in, water your plants, keep an eye on your mail and if you wouldn't take senior along with you even fed him!"
With senior he meant the cat stretched out on the sofa.
I looked up from my typewriter and saw the two he mentioned standing in front of me.
"Alright, give me a moment," I sighed while walking into the kitchen.
"You like a cup of tea?"
"Yes, please."
"Now tell me what happened again," I said after we both had our tea.

"Now, at the first meeting of the community Club, I listed my character deficiencies: honest, loyal, straight forward, a hard worker, quick student and creative," the inspector said, "but quess what? I missed something, we all did."
The other members of the club waited for a follow up of what he had started. They knew him well and looking him into the eye and a short nod was enough invitation to continue
The special club was his idea and that alone was enough reason to not answer or bring up any ideas.
"The house owner," he spat out the words as if the man was the poison in his food, "he informed that old lady. The one who wrote about us before. You know what that means don't you? "
He looked at the men who nodded and felt encouraged to say what had bothered him since weeks. "That witch of the floating body will do everything in her power to give me, us a bad name!"
"We could give her back her boat. She might leave us alone. Water has a calming influence on the nature of..."
"Shut up. Who cares about a boat. Don't you see what's really going on here? An elderly, disabled person makes a fool out of the police. Everything we do, this special club is trained for she is undermining with her antique typewriter and conspiracy theories."

His face had turned red while he was speaking and turned blue at the end of his tirade. He fell backwards in his chair and could hardly breathe. The others waited in silence and the only one who had dared to speak had courage enough to offer the inspector a glass of water with the words "I will give her her boat back and drive her over myself and will listen to her theory."
He left the room and closed the door behind him. The club was a bad idea and it couldn't hurt to listen to the landlord and the elderly lady.
They must be close he thought while he drove to the appartment complex where the two bodies were found by the alert house owner who had heard how a dog barked loudly after midnight.
As he rang and said his name through the intercom the door was opened immediately.
"Dogs are not allowed that's why I was alarmed," the owner said, "I went out to have a look and the door was open and than I saw them. They..." he swallowed and tried to wipe off his tears with his sleeve. "Such good, kind people. I tried to save them, called for help, tried 911 but the line was dead."
"What about the dog," the detective asked.
"No dog, nothing."
"You better have a closer look at the suicides and the dog leashes," I said.
"What dog leashes?"
"The ones around their necks didn't he tell you? Those two didn't commit suicide. Doesn't the inspector have a dog?"
"You can have your boat back," the detective said, "if you like I can give you a ride."
I nodded. Fresh air would do me could.
"Let me get my typewriter and see if the cat is around. You can help me carry young man." Later I would write what happened to those two girls and the inspector wouldn't like it but you can't please everyone at least not if you are me.

The prompt for the #freewrite is written in bold and provided by @mariannewest. If you like to join the freewriters do so. It takes 5 minutes of your time.

https://steemit.com/hive-161155/@mariannewest/3-part-weekend-freewrite-6-5-2021

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Freewrite House contests

  1. Tell us about a favourite freewrite

  2. A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words

loopgrn.gif

Need support?

https://steemit.com/hive-166850/@wakeupkitty.pal/giveaway-an-upvote-for-a-read522d255f8d2cest

loopgrn.gif

#ccc = hive-166850

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.

#wakeupkitty #forthechildren

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency