Not My First Rodeo - A Five Minute Freewrite

dvp8cvdgoe.jpg

(Photo by Gilles Rolland-Monnet on Unsplash)

My bones creaked and groaned when I crawled out of the camper on the back of my 20 year old pickup truck this morning. That first cup of coffee from the diner on the corner sure tasted good. It went real well with that sweet smile from the sassy waitress. Which was good, because that was all I could afford to go with it.

At the sign-in counter for bull riding I dropped my last $100 for the entry fee. If I didn't place in the winning money today, it was gonna be tough getting back to the ranch. It hadn't been a very good season and times were tough.

My event was scheduled for 2:00 pm which didn't leave much time. I headed back to my truck to get my gear. My chaps had seen better days but my lucky brown vest was still in pretty good shape. I hoped luck was with me today. I really needed to draw a decent bull after that bad spill I took in Austin a few weeks ago.

We stood around in a group as the lottery was drawn to match the bulls with the riders. I twisted my dusty cowboy hat in my hands as I prayed to get any bull except for Widow Maker.

"Rider 12 - draws "Widow Maker" the man announced, then looked at me with pity in his eyes.

Ahhhh, shit!

text15.png



bannerdivisorio_2.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency