Wonder of Wonders

hdl52lr35n.jpg


That feeling you get when you realize your youngest, the last one you gave birth to and nursed for three short years, the one who trod her own path right out of the womb, the one with a wide wide smile and a big big mouth, the one who defended and befriended the lonely and now has lifelong friends, the one who asked for tools as gifts and farm camp summer after summer, the one who knew what she wanted to be in life as soon as the idea of a life's career was presented to her. How she knew she would love caring for animals (she is very gifted in this) and the land baffles me a bit, even though I share those sentiments, because she grew up in the suburbs of NYC where she was an anomaly, a girl who liked to build stuff, raise chickens and make compost. Who is now a woman who loves to build stuff, tend all kinds of animals the bigger the better, and is devoted to healthy soil as a lifelong pursuit.

Let me present, once again because I've posted about her twice before now, my Lily, my homesteading wannabe, my baby!

Does she not look ecstatically happy building this greenhouse? Does she not seem to have found her calling? I could not be more proud of this one, at her first job out of college in her chosen career, ecological building and landscape design. Moving us all forward by bringing us back to the land.

And how lucky for us to have these skills in our family!


This is my entry to @mariannewest's freewrite challenge https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-608-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-posted

The image was taken by Lily's co-worker Merritt, also a woman. Lily's message to me along with this picture was "Merritt and I built that ceiling! Looks pretty cool in that greenhouse."


I've freewritten about Lily a couple of times before this and here are those links:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@owasco/day-520-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-psychic

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@owasco/feeling-the-love

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency