October freewrite!

What’s up, @hiveio! This is a freewrite. I just sat down at my old table at @caffetto. I feel like I’m existing between two worlds. This pandemic, and subsequent shelter in place order, have really caused a rift between our old lives and our new lives. As therapeutic as it is to sit here, I feel like I’m existing in a memory; like a ghost of what my life was before 2020. I expected all my concerns and traumas to wash away the moment I sat in this seat, but that isn’t how I’m feeling. This still feels too early, or worse yet, like I’m selfishly hanging on to a life that has already passed.

I have this incredible new electric unicycle. I had a vision of what post-pandemic-life would look like, and I imagined myself leaving my house on my EUC, taking a a brief scenic ride through Northeast and Loring Park, then setting up shop inside @caffetto and charging it while I wrote, or drew comics. That’s exactly what I did; that’s exactly what I’m doing right now, but it feels very strange. Waiting on @vermillionfox to arrive, and our son @guthrie is home watching X-Men movies. Also, something that is taking some getting used to. He’s finally at an age that he can be left by himself for short amounts of time. Yet another reason why this feels so surreal.

Despite the vertigo from from trying to decide which parallel life I’m actually living right now, I’m embracing the change. I am certainly ready for this pandemic to be over, even though it isn’t. Far from it, especially in the US. @caffetto was SO close to never reopening, like so many businesses across the world. Our community raised over $12K, which was enough to get the business to the point that loans and COVID relief were an option. I’ve had long discussions with @roadscape while he was architecting Communities here on Hive. During Justin Sun’s hostile takeover of Steemit, and the way we all kept @caffetto alive, 2020, for all the things it has not been, has been a year for me seeing the true power of people and the love for that which they collectively hold dear.

I’m growing to resent much of this quarantine. Not because I’ve been home for the last 7 months, because honestly, for me, this was a long overdue intervention for an unsustainable life and career. Hindsight is 20/20, but I’m growing more and more aware that the lock down didn’t have to happen. Masks, precautionary measures, distancing, sure. Torpedoing the livelihood and mental and emotional health of millions hasn’t “stopped the spread”. We’re worse now [by far] then we were in May, so how can you justify everything reopening?

A bit of a ranty blog for tonight, but I couldn’t believe that it’s been over 10 days since I posted here on Hive. I wanted to get something on the blockchain tonight because that is always the first step in to a nightly routine of contributing. I’ve had a lot on my mind. Too much to articulate for one freewrite, but it’s a start. I’m doing a lot with @eos.detroit. Big projects coming up that I’m really excited about. There are some other opportunities that I can’t mention right now, too. I’ll be sharing some new photography tomorrow. Thanks for reading and I’ve missed you all.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency