Freedom of Speech: Silence in the ranks. || [ESP//ENG] (Grandma on the field)

English

What can I tell you that I was in the military
About the silence we must keep when the captain speaks?
What can I tell you that already
On the streets you can't see very clearly?
Life there is all about silence
Silence the thought when
Evil cries out in command

With this little poem I begin this story...

The life of the cadet consists of not thinking, not having critical thought of the orders that are given.
I don't know if it's different in other countries.
But here I learned that the orders are not questioned.
Isn't this unnatural?

The human being needs to express himself... but to express himself
you need to think.
The military grows up trying to shut up inside,
This was something that made me think a lot and from time to time was the reason for my problems,
The life of the one who receives orders is often frustrating.

Not only did I feel oppressed there, but my fire was going out.
My way out was always better, the best ones were listened to,
and I always had a lot to say.

Being one of the best brought me personal satisfaction,
But it was also the reason for my "misfortunes".


1.jpg


On a course designed for hand-to-hand combat and survival at sea.
I embarked with the 14 best of my mates,
To an adventure from which I would return to question the entire system.

After 7 days of intense exercises, practice in shooting ranges and combat classes,
We went to a morning practice at sea, where we all in heavy uniforms went into the water.
That day the commanding officer decided to punish us for a fault of some of our comrades,
Between jumps and trots, we arrived wet to where the infernal event was going to take place.

The obstacle course was starting to be a problem, since we were all wet,
The weight of the uniform, the slipperiness of the boots due to humidity and poor execution due to fatigue,
They made me fall at the first attempt, in one of the obstacles.
It was a six-foot wall,
Wall that had jumped back infinite times.

I felt no pain when I fell, the adrenaline was too much for the moment,
I got up quickly from the ground and continued to trot until the court was finished.
As even the executioner was not satisfied, he decided to take us on a trot, back to base.

On the way something very strange was happening to me,
A tingle was beginning to creep up my legs,
I noticed that it was difficult for me to control my balance,
So little by little I lost the feeling in my legs and fell.


3.jpg


It was a weekend and the infirmary was one of the places I thought I should work continuously.
A thought that I later saw, was not correct.
The doctor only works Monday to Friday during office hours.
At that moment I started thinking about my legs and how that meant that, if it was Friday, I would have to wait 3 days for a health professional to assist me.

That created a lot of uncertainty in me,
Uncertainty that was lacking in the nurse, who began to medicate me with muscle relaxants,
By spending the night in an absolute state of anxiety,
I decided to stop talking and leave the censorship for when I could move my legs.

I pissed my guts out and told the officer they'd appointed to look after me,
That I couldn't and wouldn't wait until Monday for medical attention,
I had a plan for my dad to go to the site, he was two hours away,
The plan just needed the authorization to call him so he could take me to a medical facility.
She just said she was going to talk to her superior, the course commander,
As the hours pass, I receive notice that, for protection reasons
I was supposed to wait for them no matter what.
I already decided to make myself heard,
I managed to get a phone,
And that's how a cry for help ended my peace.

In less than ten minutes I had all the superiors in charge of the course in my room,
(My godfather happened to be one of the General Commanders of the Venezuelan Navy at the time.)
My father, frightened, went to him as a last resort, this angry man made the appropriate calls,
Where I call the attention of these men, and enable the channels so that I could go with my father to a clinic,
At the clinic the news didn't come as a surprise,
The malpractice of the nurse gender that the injury will be aggravated,
By placing the wrong medications my spine had been damaged more.
A fissure between the third and fourth discs of my spine had caused an inflammation of the nerves,
Which in turn didn't allow me to feel my legs.
15 days of anti-inflammatory drugs and 20 days of physical therapy restored my mobility,
It's about time to go back to school
And I knew what was in store for me, but I had to get back.
The anger was unleashed,
My act of defiance brought serious problems to the officers who were with me during the course,
And when the school arrived, it didn't take long for them to make me pay for their bad times.

In the midst of all this, I thought...

Was the simple act of wanting to keep my health, rather than my loyalty, so serious?
Is it necessary to go through all this?
How valuable is critical thinking?
How did I lose it without realizing it?

Looking for answers to these questions in my mind,
Dust off a necessary value for life,
Self-respect.
To love me I needed courage, and to put myself above all others.
My parents' aspirations to see me quit were things that had tormented me a great deal,
I wanted to be the best daughter they could have
But I understood that if I wasn't happy nothing would make sense in my life.


28514997_10215623753568513_9124441804705953554_o.jpg


So I decided not to shut up
Don't hesitate to criticize what I do and what I think
I learned to take responsibility for what I say and to scream when my rights are violated.
Today I am grateful for everything I experienced in that infirmary
Because my voice is free and I don't pretend to turn it down out of fear.
I express myself by giving value to my thinking and thus honoring my being.

WhatsApp Image 20200416 at 5.52.24 PM.jpeg

Español

Que te puedo decir yo que fui militar
Del silencio que debemos guardar cuando habla el capitán?
Que te puedo decir yo que ya
En las calles no se vea con mucha claridad?
La vida allí se trata de callar
Silenciar el pensamiento cuando
El mal grite al mandar

Con este pequeño poemita comienzo este relato.

La vida del cadete, consiste en no pensar, no tener pensamiento critico de las ordenes que se dan.
No se si en otros países sea diferente.
Pero aquí aprendí a que las ordenes no se cuestionan.
No es esto anti natural?

El ser humano necesita expresarse… pero para expresarte
necesitas pensar.
El militar crece tratando de callarse por dentro,
Esto fue algo que me hizo pensar mucho y de vez en cuando fue la razón de mis problemas,
La vida del que recibe ordenes, suele ser frustrante.
Allá no solo me sentía oprimida, si no también mi fuego se apagaba.
Mi escapatoria fue siempre mejorar, a los mejores los escuchaban,
y yo siempre tenía mucho por decir.
Ser de las mejores me trajo satisfacciones personales,
Pero también fue la razón de mis “desgracias”.

1.jpg

En un curso diseñado para el combate cuerpo a cuerpo y la sobrevivencia en la mar.
Me embarque con los 14 mejores de mis compañeros,
A una aventura de la que volvería cuestionando todo el sistema.
Después de 7 días de intensos ejercicios, de prácticas en polígonos de tiro y de clases de combate,
Fuimos a una mañana a una practica en la mar, a donde todos con uniformes pesados entrabamos al agua.
Ese día el oficial al mando decidió castigarnos por una falta de algunos compañeros,
Entre brincos y trotes, llegamos mojados a donde se iba a llevar a cabo el evento infernal.
La cancha de obstáculos comenzaba siendo un problema, ya que todos estábamos mojados,
El peso del uniforme, lo resbaloso de las botas por la humedad y la mala ejecución producto del cansancio,
Me hicieron caer al primer intento, en unos de los obstáculos.
Se trataba de una pared de 2 metros,
Pared que había saltado infinitas veces atrás.
No sentí dolor al caer, la adrenalina era mucha para el momento,
Me levanté rápidamente del suelo y seguí al trote hasta terminar la cancha.
Como aun el verdugo no estaba satisfecho, decidió llevarnos trotando, de vuelta a la base.
En el camino algo muy extraño me estaba sucediendo,
Un hormigueo comenzaba a subir por mis piernas,
Note que se me hacía difícil controlar mi equilibrio,
Así poco a poco perdí la sensibilidad de mis piernas y caí.

3.jpg

Era fin de semana y la enfermería era uno de los lugares que pensé debía trabajar continuamente.
Pensamiento que luego vi, no era correcto.
El doctor solo trabaja de lunes a viernes en horario de oficina.
En ese momento comencé a pensar en mis piernas y en como eso significaba que, si era viernes, tendría que esperar 3 días para que un profesional de la salud me asistiera.
Eso genero mucha incertidumbre en mí,
Incertidumbre de la que carecía el enfermero, que comenzó a medicarme con relajantes musculares,
Al pasar la noche en un estado absoluto de ansiedad,
Decidí no callar mas y dejar la censura para cuando pudiese mover mis piernas.
Me arme de valor y le dije a la oficial que designaron para cuidarme,
Que yo no podía y no quería esperar hasta el lunes por atención médica,
Yo había ideado un plan para que mi papa pudiese ir al sitio, el se encontraba a dos horas de ese lugar,
El plan solo necesitaba la autorización para llamarlo y que el pudiese así llevarme a un centro médico.
Ella solo contesto que iba a hablar con su superior el comandante del curso,
Al pasar las horas recibo la noticia de que, por razones de protección
Debía esperar sin importarles nada.
Yo ya decidida a hacerme escuchar,
Me las ingenie para conseguir un teléfono,
Y fue así como una llamada de auxilio acabó con mi paz.
En menos de diez minutos tenia a todos los superiores encargados del curso en mi habitación,
(Mi padrino resultaba ser uno de los Comandantes Generales de La Armada Venezolana para ese momento).
Mi padre asustado, acudió a él como último recurso, este hombre furioso hizo las llamadas pertinentes,
Donde le llamo la atención a dichos hombres, y habilito los canales para que yo pudiese ir con mi padre a una clínica,
En la clínica las noticias no sorprendieron,
La mala practica de el enfermero género que la lesión se agravará,
Al colocar los medicamentos que equivocados mi columna se había perjudicado más.
Una fisura entre en el tercer y cuarto disco de mi columna habían generado una inflamación en los nervios,
Que a su vez no me permitía sentir mis piernas.
15 días de desinflamantes y 20 días de terapia física me regresaron la movilidad,
Ya era hora de volver a la escuela
Y yo sabía lo que me esperaba, pero debía regresar.
La ira estaba desatada,
Mi acto de rebeldía le trajo problemas serios a los oficiales que estuvieron conmigo durante el curso,
Y al llegara la escuela no tardaron en hacerme pagar por sus malos ratos.

En medio de todo esto reflexione…

¿Fue tan grave el simple acto de querer guardar mi salud, antes que mi lealtad?
¿Es necesario pasar por todo esto?
¿Qué tan valioso es el pensamiento crítico?
¿Cómo lo había perdido sin darme cuenta?

Buscándole respuestas a estas preguntas en mi mente,
Desempolve un valor necesario para la vida,
El amor propio.
Para amarme necesitaba valor, y ponerme sobre todos los demás.
Las aspiraciones de mis padres al verme renunciar, eran cosas que me habían atormentado bastante,
Yo quería ser la mejor hija que ellos pudiesen tener
Pero entendí que si yo no era feliz nada tendría sentido en mi vida.

28514997_10215623753568513_9124441804705953554_o.jpg

Así que decidí no callarme
No vacilar al criticar lo que hago y lo que pienso
Aprendí a hacerme responsable de lo que digo y a gritar cuando violan mis derechos.
Hoy en día agradezco todo lo vivido en esa enfermería
Porque mi voz es libre y no pretende bajar el volumen por miedo.
Me expreso dándole valor a mi pensar y así honro mi ser.

WhatsApp Image 20200416 at 7.04.08 PM 1.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency