Angel Hair Spaghetti And Savoury Mince -FFF-

jc5x4u.jpg

The sound of rain on the roof brought a certain sense of relief, not that it was hot at all, but also a weird sense of “I can’t go out” adding further legitimacy to my decision to stay at home during this global event. I had no plans on going out anyway, just weird the mental association we have with the weather playing tricks.

The sun has gone down, but my concept of time is starting to slip. Thankfully, I have this competition to mark the time and monitor the growth of what is rapidly becoming classed as a beard. It’s been 3 weeks since razors have touched my face, so I guess that qualifies, right?

The rain stopped for a while but then returned heavier than before, reinforcing my sense of being trapped, with water overflowing from my gutters, and splattering onto the red tiles of my front verandah as if to remove any doubt.

The Spaghetti


To console myself, I decided that I would cook some angel hair spaghetti with the beef mince I had bought recently.

Normally, you’d start to cook the spaghetti first but where’s the fun in doing things normally? Chuckle.

You can cook the meat and the spaghetti at the same time if you want, I just prefer to use the same burner on the oven. I know, it’s just a weird quirk I picked up.

So, for those who want the normal method:

Place the amount of spaghetti you want into a pot of water like so:

ksdys1.jpgMake sure to cover the spaghetti with water as it will expand slightly.

Some may add a pinch of salt, under the belief it makes the water boil faster, but it doesn’t.
It’s up to you.

It will take a while for the water to boil, so when it does turn it down to a simmer for 10-14 minutes according to taste. I prefer to go... beyond al dente.

Give the spaghetti a good stir, possibly a few jibes about its football team’s chances in the finals this year, but avoid mentioning its mother. Trust me on this one.

ojpqyn.jpgAngel Hair spaghetti after a good stir and some light ribbing.

This will need a rinse, then strain off the excess water.

As for the meat, I used 250 grams of beef mince (possibly enough for two people?) in a wok, but you can use a saucepan. You can use any meat or alternatives that you prefer. Some people chop up onions and garlic and include it, but this is optional.

017xzl.jpg

I added some savoury mince flavouring, but you can add chilli con carne for that added kick.
Or chilli powder if you so desire.

Another round of insults regarding football teams later (give it a stir) and you get this:

2fc6x5.jpg

Throw in some diced veggies too, and put a saucepan lid over the top to steam them to perfection.
“Oh, yeah! What about last year’s Grand Final?!” (The final stir...)

c20b7d.jpgIt’s done...

Dishing Up


Now, I messed this up so that you don’t have to. Find a plate or appropriately sized bowl.
Pour the now strained (after all those insults) spaghetti onto / into your food vessel of choice.
Then cover it with the meat, with perfect presentation. Or just mix it up like I did. LMAO.

ri9rcs.jpg

Boner petite!” I said with an Australian drawl, murdering the French language.

“Cela ne veut-il pas dire petite bite?" said an offended imaginary French person.

And we all laughed.

Have I been isolated too long? I’ll let you be the judge!

Anyway, I hope you had a bit of a laugh. There’s a lot more content to come and a lot better
food than what I can pull together myself.

Stay safe out there, and stay in your kitchens!

See you next time.

s295d9.jpg
Shaidon’s Seal Of Approval

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency