Savoury Seed & Sundried Tomato Biscuits - An Alternative to Additive-Filled Snacks for Children - An Original Recipe


I eat masses of seeds and nuts myself, but for my infant son there's still the risk of choking or breathing them into his airways, so I asked myself "how am I to get these nutritious foods into him?"  My husband and I decided to raise Sky as vegetarian until he is old enough to understand about where meat comes from and choose for himself whether he wants to eat it, so I must ensure he has all the nutrition available to him.  

As many of you have seen recently I have been grinding nuts and seeds up for various things, such as my Vegetarian Quiche with a Sesame, Linseed & Hazelnut Crust, or my Manuka Honey, Hazelnut & Golden Linseed Creamy Cheesecake.  So the experimentation continues and yesterday I came up with these Savoury Seed & Sundried Tomato Biscuits, which are very simply made yet very tasty, healthy and most importantly - safe for an infant!  The last two afternoons I have been feeding him nibbles of these biscuits, and he keeps coming back for more so I guess it's thumbs up for these biscuits Mama!  Hooray for their seedy goodness!!!


Ingredients: (makes about 25)


100g sesame seeds

100g golden linseed

50g hemp seeds

50g sunflower seeds

50g coconut oil

50g butter

100g sundried tomatoes

2 large free-range eggs

2 tblsp dried oregano

2 tblsp dried rosemary

1 tsp black pepper

1 tsp cinnamon

Cold water to keep your hands wet to shape biscuits


Method:


Grind the seeds finely - I used the grinder attachment on my blender.  Put the ground seeds into a large bowl.



Rub the oil and butter into the ground seeds using your hands.



Chop the sundried tomatoes into small pieces... I find scissors much easier than a knife!



Add the sundried tomatoes to the bowl, along with the eggs, herbs and spices.  Using your hand, thoroughly blend all the ingredients together to make a nice sticky mixture.  



Keeping your hands wet, shape the biscuits into rounds and pat them flat.  They are a little fragile at this stage, but will hold once baked so don't worry!  I also find silicone baking trays are very handy as they don't stick and therefore don't need rough treatment with a spatula to remove them from the tray!  If you don't have a silicone tray, use some baking parchment or lightly grease the tray.



Pop into a preheated oven at 180 degrees Celsius for 15 minutes until golden and crunchy.  Allow to cool before moving from the tray.  



Eat on their own as a snack, or alongside a meal.  Yummy!



For more healthy vegetarian, sugar-free, additive-free recipes for meals and snacks, please follow me!  
 

Many thanks.
 

For extra tips on health for you and your family, can also support me as Natural Health Mama at: https://www.facebook.com/naturalhealthmamma and https://naturalhealthmamablog.wordpress.com/
 

All photos in this post are my own original.



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
50 Comments
Ecency