Homemade Healthy Snacks Series - #8 Apple & Cinnamon Loaf - An Original Recipe

Another easy snack to prepare, and contains no sugar unlike many other loaf/cake recipes.  I decided to do a variation of my Banana & Date Loaf recipe, mainly because my husband isn't too keen on the sweetness of the dates, so I created this for him as it's still sweet but not too sweet!  A perfect happy-medium.  I love quick-and-easy recipes, as I'm sure all my fellow parents will agree it's difficult to find time for baking as well as everything else!


You won't find sugar in any of my healthy recipes, and weight gain or rotten teeth aren't really my main concerns.  Sugar,  as many of you know, is highly addictive and affects your brain, leaving you craving more and more and more... The addiction to sugar is similar to the way a junkie craves their next fix.  Not a good thing to be happening, especially in children, so regular consumption is ill-advised.  It also affects metabolism, appetite, hormones, energy levels, quality of sleep, harms the liver, harms the heart, increases insulin production (leading to type 2 diabetes and obesity), increases the likelihood of developing numerous illnesses from mild infections to serious diseases such as cancer.  Scary stuff for something so pretty and sweet.  Remember - Sugar feeds disease!


All of the ingredients I use are organic, as I will feed this to my 1-year-old son as well as eating it myself.  I do all I can to avoid toxic pesticide residues and GMOs and goodness knows what else is in non-organic produce.  After all, if you don't have your health, what do you have?



What you will need:


2 eggs
1/3rd cup coconut oil/avocado oil/butter, melted (- these are good fats)
1 large or 2 small apples
4 tblsp honey
1/4 cup water
3 tblsp cinnamon
1 tsp baking soda
2 cups wholewheat flour, either fine or fine/coarse mixture
Golden linseed & extra cinnamon for topping

Method:


Peel, core and grate the apple(s), then set to one side



 In a large bowl beat the eggs until fluffy 



 Add the grated apple, coconut oil, water, honey, cinnamon and baking soda, and mix well 



 Add the flour and mix well again 



 Grease a loaf tin and spoon the mixture evenly into it.   Sprinkle with golden linseed and extra cinnamon 



 Bake in a preheated oven at 160 degrees Celcius for 45 minutes, then allow to cool on a wire rack 



 Slice up and enjoy on its own, or with butter, warm or cold! 



If you enjoyed this recipe, please follow me and you can look forward to more yummy and healthy recipes! 


Many thanks. 


For extra tips on health, weight loss & information about natural foods you can also support me as Natural Health Mama at: https://www.facebook.com/naturalhealthmamma and https://naturalhealthmamablog.wordpress.com/ 


Logo kindly created for me by @papa-pepper

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency