Fresh Strawberries & Cream Birthday Muffins! - Original Recipe (Sugar Free, Gluten Free, Paleo)


It was my birthday yesterday, and rather than eating anything too rich, sugary or chocolately, I prefer a simple light sponge with freshly whipped cream and juicy homegrown strawberries!  The sponge is a recipe I created the last time my Dad came to visit, as he is gluten intolerant.  The recipe is suitable for those following a paleo diet, and would also be a healthy option for giving to children, as you wouldn't have to worry about sugar making them bouncy crazy!


I debated for a moment whether to top these muffins with melted chocolate, I guess because many of us tend to associate birthdays with chocolate goodies.  But then I thought of all the strawberries in my little greenhouse and decided that actually what I consider to be a treat these days isn't chocolates and candy and fancy cakes, but nutritious and very delicious things like fresh fruit... particularly seasonal fruit that isn't available to me year-round.  I like to enjoy these things whilst I can!  Also I have put so much time, will and sheer physical effort into re-gaining my pre-motherhood UK size 8 figure, that I really don't want to put any weight back on!  But thankfully treats don't have to be fattening or unhealthy in any way, so long as the ingredients used to make them are all good for health (duh!)


Ingredients:


4 large free range eggs

125g butter

4 tblsp honey 

1 large ripe banana

100ml milk (either dairy or non-dairy)

2 tsp baking soda

100g coconut flour

150g tapioca flour

Fresh whipping cream

Fresh strawberries


Method:


In a large bowl beat the eggs until light and fluffy.



Puree the banana.



Melt the butter and stir in the honey.



Add the pureed banana, butter and honey to the beaten eggs, and pour in the milk.  Stir.



Add the coconut flour, tapioca flour and baking soda to the bowl and beat - slowly to start with otherwise the very fine flour will rise up in a cloud and cover you!



Line a muffin tin with paper cases and spoon the mixture into them.  This mixture doesn't rise as much as cakes made with wheat flour, so fill the cases almost to the top.  Pop into a preheated oven at 170 degrees Celsius for about 25 minutes until golden.



Allow to cool on a wire rack.



Now all that's left to do is whip the cream and slice up the strawberries!  I have lovely homegrown strawberries at the moment.  Simply dollop the cream on top and arrange the slices of strawberries to your liking.  Enjoy!



For healthy vegetarian, sugar-free, additive-free recipes for   meals and snacks, and the Steemit Culinary Challenge, please follow me!   
 

Many thanks.
 

For extra tips on health for you and your family, can also support me as Natural Health Mama at: https://www.facebook.com/naturalhealthmamma and https://naturalhealthmamablog.wordpress.com/
 

All photos in this post are my own original, taken with my Fujifilm Finepix S8200.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
37 Comments
Ecency