Cinnamon Cookies (No Sugar) - An Original Recipe & Healthy Alternative to Sugary Snacks


As requested here is the recipe for the other cookies featured in my 'Picnic Alfresco' photos!  Made in a very similar way to the Pecan & Date Gingerbread Men recipe I posted yesterday, yet taste very different with the hazelnuts and cinnamon as the main flavours.  Crunchy, slightly chewy, yummy :-)  I recommend either buying roasted or roasting the hazelnuts yourself, as this brings out the sweetness of the nuts and they taste much nicer when roasted.  I also recommend using a good quality ground cinnamon rather than those very cheap options, as the cheaper ones in my opinion can often taste a bit synthetic or 'perfumey' if you know what I mean.

And as always I use natural alternatives to sugar, so these are suitable for children too.  I don't mean to sound judgmental, but nowadays I wouldn't dream of giving a commercial cookie to my child, as they are not just packed with sugar but artificial additives too, which are very harmful to the development of growing children.  I don't even eat commercial rubbish myself anymore and feel waaaaaaay better for it!


Ingredients:


50g butter 

3 tsp honey (I use Manuka)

150g dates 

3 heaped tsp cinnamon 

100g chopped roasted hazelnuts 

2 free-range eggs 

200g spelt flour 

1 tsp baking soda


Method:


Melt the butter and honey together in a large bowl.



Finely chop the dates and add to the bowl, along with the cinnamon, eggs and chopped hazelnuts.



Add the spelt flour and baking soda, and mix well.



 With floured hands shape the mixture into balls and flatten gently.  Carefully place onto a floured baking tray and pop into a preheated oven at 190 degrees Celsius for about 15 minutes until golden and firm to touch.  Allow to cool on a wire rack.



For healthy vegetarian, sugar-free, additive-free recipes for  meals and snacks, and the Steemit Culinary Challenge, please follow me!    
 

Many thanks.
 

For extra tips on health for you and your family, can also support me as Natural Health Mama at: https://www.facebook.com/naturalhealthmamma and https://naturalhealthmamablog.wordpress.com/
 

All photos in this post are my own original, taken with my Fujifilm Finepix S8200. 



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
27 Comments
Ecency