Hello Fresh - Cooking for non-cooks?

I will freely admit to not being a great cook. I have a few things I can cook and I can follow basic recipes, but I do not experiment much. We share the cooking between three of us and it tends to be the same few meals on rotation. A friend suggested we try Hello Fresh and there was a discount on the initial order.

Boxes

We ordered five meals for four that arrived in two large boxes. Some of the ingredients need to be refridgerated. Those came in insulated bags with ice packs and were still cool on delivery. There is a fair bit of packaging, but most of is recycleable or made from recycled materials.

I cooked this evening's meal of mushroom pasanda. I first assembled all the ingredients. Most come in a bag that has the same number as the recipe card. You have everything you need apart from oil, salt and pepper. They said this would take 35 minutes to prepare.

Ingredients

I carefully followed the steps and it was all pretty clear. I did not use all the spice mix as my other half does not like things to be too spicy. I did use most of the tumeric for the rice and cauliflower. That latter was roasted. I think it took under 45 minutes, but there would be some variation in getting things heated up.

The result was pretty good. The rice was a bit stuck together, but had some flavour. In general we are not great users of spices, but they do make a difference. This had plenty of flavour without being overpowering. The previous meal we had was a sweet potato salad that was really tasty.

Dinner

We are considering having more of these, but probably not every day. They can add some variety to our meals. They work out at about £3.50 per person per meal. You could buy the ingredients cheaper, but might end up with extra of some that could get wasted. I would consider it semi-fast food in that it is convenient, but probably better for you than some ready-made meals. We do not tend to have things like microwave meals and do cook a lot from basic ingredients.

They have a referral scheme, so you can get something off your initial orders via this link.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency