Recipe - Chocolate orange energy bars

These tasty little energy bars are easy to make. Just let your food processor do all the work!

Recipe chocolate orange energy bars with dates by playfulfoodie

It's been a while since I last shared a recipe (or blogged at all), so I figured it was about time! Sorry for neglecting my blog and not replying to all of you. I appreciate and read all of your replies and will try to gather up the energy to improve things.

Anyway!

The story about these bars goes as followed:

I was in the grocery store and was looking for some pre-packed cookies and/or energy bars to take with me on my training day (mentally, not physically). I saw this little package with four chocolate orange energy bars and even though the price was pretty high, I figured I'd try them just this once. It was a package that advertised with stuff like 'healthy, only 6 ingredients!'.

Later, I had one. Yum! I loved the taste, but I didn't love the price. I was interested in the ingredients, figuring I might be able to create this myself. Only 6 ingredients, right? How hard could it be to figure out?

Much easier than I thought it appeared, because on the box, in the ingredient list, they had mentioned all ingredients including their percentages!

So, I wrote down the list and percentages, added a zero at the end of each one and then calculated back to a nice even number that matched exactly one package of dates. I switched out two ingredients for ones I liked better and went to work on my own energy bars.

They turned out great and taste basically the same. I enjoy mine a little better, because I used ingredients I enjoyed more and as an added bonus, I get about 18 bars out of this and for a much lower price per bar than the store-bought ones. The only downside to mine: they're a little more crumbly. Acceptable I think!

I now take one of these bars with me on every work day and eat it around 10 o'clock as a snack inbetween breakfast and lunch. Delicious and easy! I just take one out of the freezer in the morning on my way to work. Here's the recipe for you to enjoy aswell and for easy access for me later.

Chocolate orange energy bars

Recipe chocolate orange energy bars with dates by playfulfoodie

Ingredients

  • 200g Dates
  • 100g Oats
  • 35g Walnuts
  • 30g Cocoa powder
  • 25g Raisins / dried figs / dried apricots
  • 2 Tsp orange extract
  • Olive oil

Recipe chocolate orange energy bars with dates by playfulfoodie

Directions

  1. Grab your food processor with its knives. Put in the walnuts and pulse a few times.
  2. Cut your dates in halfs or quarters to give your machine an easier time. Then put them in with the nuts and pulse until they are well cut up.
  3. Add the (cut up) dried fruit and pulse untill combined with the rest.
  4. Add the other ingredients except for the olive oil and pulse until well combined.
  5. Now add oil a little at a time, until the mixture is sticky enough to stick together.
  6. Line an oven dish with parchment paper and drop in the mixture. Press it tightly together and put the dish in the freezer for an hour or two.
  7. Take out of the freezer, use the paper to take out your bar, put it on a cutting board and cut your bar into small bars. I usually get around 18 bars out of this recipe.
  8. Wrap your bars up in whatever you prefer (I use tin foil).
  9. Store your bars in the freezer, but don't eat frozen.

Enjoy!


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Redbubble shop | Vida shop | Foodblog | Pinterest | Twitter | Patreon | Weku |

| Check out Mannabase to receive free basic income (ref link) |
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency