This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Here's how I use a diet-tracking app for fun and weight loss

)

I started tracking my food about a month ago because in the past I've always hit a plateau with weight loss, and I need data to break through it. I use CarbManager because it focused on a low-carb diet and makes those numbers more prominent.

My goals with tracking food are:

1: Increased accountability: A record of what I'm eating is by itself powerful motivation to stick to my dietary goals.

2: Enhanced awareness: I want to be more aware of the nutritional content of what I eat so I can make better choices.

3: Improved nutrition: I want to review the aggregate data of my diet to make sure I'm getting enough of what I need.

I have two daily goals: 7% (33g) or less of my calories from carbs and 27% (130 grams) of my calories from protein. (Which leaves 66% of calories from fat.)

I just lowered my carb target from 12%, so I will see if I can stick with this. The most common view I use is the profile of the foods I ate each day and their carb/protein content.

On a deeper level, I occasionally monitor my micronutrient consumption to verify that I'm getting enough vitamins.

Logo
Center