This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Gardeningchef's Roasted Garlic Ketchup

GCHK05.jpg


Hello Steemers!

For the last 24 of my life it has been all about ketchup! The tomatoes in the garden have been getting on really well and growing a healthy amount of fruit. Not only that, a friend recently brought me a huge bag full of tomatoes from his garden. With all these tomatoes on my hands I thought I would have a go at making my own ketchup, and I am glad I did.


GCHK01.JPG

GCHK02.JPG


I am really excited about this recipe - it was a first time success which isn't always the case when trying something out for the first time. I took some photos as I went along to make a post if it turned out tasty - it has exceeded my expectations 100%. This beats any shop bought ketchup I've ever had. I'm glad I followed my intuition in the kitchen, it really paid off!


GCHK03.JPG

GCHK04.JPG


GARDENINGCHEF'S ROASTED GARLIC KETCHUP

Ingredients

2.120KG of tomatoes - cored & diced
Whole head of garlic - roasted
One large onion
60ml of apple cider vinegar
2x tbsp of honey
A pinch of cayenne pepper
Ground pepper & salt to taste

-Yields 500 ml of ketchup-

Method

First off I preheated the oven and prepared the garlic head, chopping the ends off and drizzling with olive oil and a pinch of salt before tightly wrapping with baking paper and cling film. I roasted the garlic in the oven on gas mark 4 for 40 minutes.

To start the ketchup base I cooked the onion in a large pot until translucent and lightly caramelised, then added the diced and deseeded tomatoes. I left the seeds in the small cherry tomatoes from my poly but did remove the seeds from the larger tomatoes as I didn't want it to be too watery.

The onion and tomatoes cooked on a low heat for 30 minutes. I mashed the mix in the pot with a potato masher and then added in the roasted garlic once it was ready. I blitzed that in the food processor until desired consistency and then put back into the pot, adding in the rest of the ingredients.

After that it was smooth sailing - I simmered it for a total of 7 hours on the lowest heat possible (stirring frequently) until the sauce reduced, becoming a perfectly thick tomato ketchup. I blitzed it another time in the food processor and viola - delicious ketchup was created!


GCHK05.jpg

GCHK06.jpg


It's the best ketchup I've ever tasted and it was so easy to make, I am beyond chuffed and impressed that something I came up with tastes this good.

If you try my recipe out do let me know - I'd love to hear your thoughts on it!! I hope you liked this post, I will hopefully be sharing more cooking if the summer heat allows. I just about managed the ketchup as I could leave the kitchen in between stirring!

I hope everyone is having a great start to the week!

Gardeningchef