This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Challenge #04098-K080: Kids on a Field Trip

elimende-inagella-0fcNFNZ6sBY-unsplash.jpg

The pirate captain ordered the ship to head straight for the prey ship in their sights.
The pirate crew reported a sign painted on the hull: Human Toddlers on Board.
The pirate captain ordered the ship to turn around and go after something... safer. -- DaniAndShali

It was a reconditioned space yacht, not an uncommon sight in the Alliance shipping lanes. Deregger liquidations lead to a lot of spacious vehicles that were re-purposed from luxury to utility. Someone had painted this one Banana Yellow.

Captain Haa checked with their Ships' Crow[1]. "Anything interesting on board?"

"She's not a cargo ship," said Loch. "Lots of life-signs. Checking visual... Uh oh." Ze put a visual feed on the main screen.

Black letters in Galstand Simple, in a font that was easiest to read. HUMAN TODDLERS INSIDE.

"Oh my gods," whispered Haa. "It's full of neophytes."

"They're infants, cap'n," said the new navigator as he adjusted the heading and thrust. "What's so frightening."

"You need to learn about Human Pib," said Loch.

"What's the next-nearest ship to take?" asked Haa.

"Vorax raider vessel."

"That's much safer, we'll do that one. Stealth vector and thrust."

"Aye aye, cap'n." The navigator re-set the course and speed. He would be learning a lot, today.

[1] Most of Spacer terminology is repurposed from Seafarer terminology. In an age of scanners and telescopy, the Crow's Nest is now a crewmember with access to all available means of seeing further than anyone else. This is the Ship's Crow.

[Photo by Elimende Inagella on Unsplash]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends! Or visit my hub site to see what else I'm up to.

Send me a prompt [93 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling