Challenge #03164-H255: Earth Plus Water Equals Friendship?

canstockphoto13439005.jpg

The path to real friendship is paved with really stupid shit. Hey my friend, sorry about that! Here, let me get that mud off of you. -- Anon Guest

There is a saying among Galactics, Pack-bonding will happen whether you want it or not. It is never said by Humans. When they found out about it they laughed.

It was certainly a very true saying for Companion Tros, who had just met her Ships' Human in a cascade of mud, tumbles, and laughter. "Whoah, I really misjudged that one. Hi, you okay? Nothing broken? Livesuit[1] holding up?" The Human picked her up, setting her back upright while still sitting in the mud. "Let me get that gluck off of ya."

Hands easily capable of crushing her were surprisingly gentle at a perfunctory cleansing. "Hello? I am here to meet Human Ori and begin briefing for life aboard the Legendary Fire Bird."

"Wait it's really called the Legendary Fire Bird? I thought that was a translator error!" The Human started laughing, sparing a rougher swipe at their nameplate. Which also revealed any other indicators, like the proper pronoun to use. Her name was Ori McLean, and it was a safe bet that the last name was not pronounced how it was spelled[2]. "Hello. And you are?"

"Companion Tros." She offered a hand in the Human way. She got a hug.

"Aaaw you guys are so cute. I'm gonna love it on your ship."

It took Tros a week to learn that Human Ori considered them best friends forever from that particular moment.

[1] Considering the vast array of potential diseases to encounter across vast distances, it just makes sense to greet every new situation with adequate protection.

[2] This is pretty typical for Human names.

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / focalpoint]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends!

Send me a prompt [75 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency