My Food Fight Friday!

image.png

Pictured: Joy

Food Fight Friday

Today for me was Food Truck Friday! I went to one of out local community gardens and paid a visit to my very favorite food truck. They are a Honduran food truck and they only make three things and they make them very well. Tacos, Arepas and Baleadas. Pictured above is the carnitas Baleada.

First they take a massive flour tortilla and smother it with re-fried beans, crema, onions and a dash of cheese. After that they apply the stars of the show. The meat, in the case carnitas, is flavorful and juicy. Sometimes if you get lucky there will be a hunk or two of charred burnt end. The avocado blends perfectly with the crema and beans and adds to the wonderful and flavorful mouthfeel. The surprise and what I was initially apprehensive about, say fifty or so baleadas ago, is the plantain. It is caramelized to perfection and if lucky enough to get that burnt end pork, there is no better experience.

This is what I almost always get. I'll switch up the meat choice from time to time going either Carne Asada, Pollo Asado or Birria(short rib). I do occasionally get the Arepas because I love a good corn cake and sometimes get the tacos as well, I believe they have the best in my city. But I can get good tacos just about anywhere, and while a corn cake can be nice, this is the only place I can get these massively stuffed flour tortillas. Straight to the heart.

Thanks again for your time and attention!

@jackofcrows


image.png
Steem Monsters


Doge.png
D7N81UFsYRahNxvEr9G8fbQSnSBfEm9vzy



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency