Black Vultures For Feathered Friday!

Today, for #featheredfriday, I'll be sharing some photos of black vultures. I took these at the Conowingo Fisherman's Park. The black vultures tend to stay in the area closest to the trail there. I also caution you to continue reading at your own risk and I take no responsibility for any nightmares you may suffer after reading and seeing my photos..lol.

hvxp3oq3r4.jpg

2boiembric.jpg

n9i9xhfm6t.jpg

Black vultures have black feathers, bare black wrinkled heads and white patches under their primary feathers. You usually will not see their white feathers though unless they are in flight or if they have their wings spread open. Sometimes they will sit with their wings spread wide in what is called the "horaltic pose". They do this to increase the surface area of their body so that the sun can more easily warm them. I wouldn't say they are a pretty bird but they are interesting and do help to clean up roadkill.

cc23qv182y.jpg

7bsy8egkdu.jpg

Don't expect any pretty sounds from them either as any noises they make sounds like hissing and or grunts. I didn't get close enough to hear any of those sounds and I'm perfectly okay with that too!

03n6oryeq0.jpg

Alright so maybe they aren't all that scary! You know what is though is when you think you've seen them all and then you walk just a few feet onto the trail and it is so quiet and then your husband tells you to look up!

ixgrud17w2.jpg

mxzn8dqn4z.jpg

93naidznct.jpg

raa7egqdw2.jpg

Yeah! I wasn't expecting that! 😱

g8dd6vzfa4.jpg

Thank you @melinda010100 for #featheredfriday!!

86ea2dyu0d.png

10t0fnrxjj.png

anonyvoterlogo.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency